Stuffed Shells IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I was craving stuffed shells, and after much searching finally decided on this recipe. I am so glad that I did. I used fresh spinach that I threw in the saute pan to wilt after I finished browning the turkey. It was actually better the next day when the flavors had a longer time to meld. Next time I make this I will prepare it the day before. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Tasty! I wasn't a pro about stuffing the shells, so it wasn't the prettiest dish I've ever made - but it turned out tasting great, which is what counts. Next time, I will probably reduce or maybe eliminate the parsley as I thought it was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is my husband's favorite dish. It is wonderful as-is but I will usually use twice the spinach for nutritional reasons (we have a 2-year old boy). I always have enough shells to store in both a 9x13 and an 8x8 dish. I freeze the smaller dish for a later day. Always comes out WONDERFUL!!! Thanks Barbara for a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
My whole family loved these and fought over the leftovers! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These shells were very good. I loved the stuffing. Only change made was 1 cup ricotta and 1 cup cottage cheese (vs. 2 cups cottage cheese). I also topped with 1/2 the mozz. and 1/2 asiago for a bit more flavor. Very good. I'll def. make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci
Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I'd have given 5 stars if you made your own sauce! Very good stuffing for shells, thank you! I used a recipe from another source for the pasta sauce; seems pointless to go to the work and effort and use sauce from a jar. JUst sauteed some green pepper, onion, mushrooms with a 28 oz can of whole tomatoes (chopped), 6 oz can of tomato paste, basil, marjoram, red pepper flakes, pinch of sugar, salt, fennel seed and let it simmer while I cooked the filling....wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These were very good!! I did leave out the spinach, but other that that I followed the recipe exactly. My husband ate almost half of them and my 2 year old went back for seconds as well! I made a second batch to freeze. So, we will definitely have them again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My husband ate so much of this that I barely got enough for myself! This was a big hit and I will definitely make it again. The only things i did differently were: I used grated parmesean cheese instead of fresh because that's what we had, and I added some spaghetti sauce to the mixture before stuffing it. I also used manicotti noodles because I already had them. Could have used a little more spaghetti sauce on top, but that's a personal preference. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These are really tasty. I spend the time to make them and then freeze them on a cookie sheet. Once frozen I store in ziplock bags. I pull them out and bake them for a healthy weeknight dinner. The kids love them, and everyone gets a balanced meal in a one dish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Love this recipe! Added more seasoning to the meat for additional flavor and I will deifnately make this again. Extras freeze easily and can be re-heated with little effort. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States