Stuffed Shells IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I made this last night and it was excellent AND easy to pull together. I did add Oregano instead of parsley while the meat was cooking, I also added a package of Italian seasoning and had one cup of small curd cottage cheese and one cup of ricotta. My sweetheart said it was perfect and cleaned his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I seasoned the ground beef with dry Italian Dressing mix, like other reviewers. In my opinion it needed more seasoning, so I also added basil and oregano too. I ended up making 2 8x8 dishes and froze one. I love dishes that make something to freeze. This was a dud with my 7 and 4 yr old. They both love lasagna but thought the filling was "slimy.". Neither would eat it and my 4 year old literally eats everything. It wasn't wet either. I thought it wasn't half bad. The biggest problem was that I used a store bought sauce and I am always disappointed with store bought sauces,,, but it was free and I needed to use it. My husband liked it too but I think I will just stick with lasagna next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Sooo good! Even my 1 year old devoured it! I think the only change I made was to use ewll drained canned spinach. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rolling Prairie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I have two issues with this otherwise excellent recipe that keep it from being 5 stars. First, sauce is so easy to make. Second, use same pot you used to boil the shells to sweat the vegetables, brown the meat and mix with the cheeses. Throw the spinach in during the last minute of cooking to evaporate any remaining liquid. Lastly, cover the bottom of the baking dish with a thin layer of sauce unless you want you shells to stick! Oh, unless you have two 9x13 baking dishes, half this recipe – there’s no way you can get all of the stuffed shells to fit in a single dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpitingolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was really good- Just need to add some spices, such as italian seasoning. I mixed Hot sausage and ground beef to the ground turkey. I like my dishes a little zesty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kermi00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Delicious! This was one of the first somewhat complicated recipies I have tried on my own. I took others recommendations and added 2 tbs of italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper & 1/2 tsp oregano. I also used 1 cup ricotta chess to substitute for 1 of the 2 cups of cottage cheese. I added some fresh chopped tomatoes--we love tomatoes! Otherwise followed the recipe and this turned out fantastic!! It made a LOT, so I froze in meal sizes. Leftovers still tasted great..now if I could only get my boyfriend to eat leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was pretty good, but I think the meat mixture needed some extra seasoning, possibly with oregano, basil and more garlic. It seemed a little bland to me. I made 2 changes but I don't think it affected the flavor as far as seasonings go. First, I don't like cottage cheese in anything so I used ricotta. Second, I used fresh spinach as that was all I had. This recipe makes alot! I should have looked at the number of servings because there were only 2 of us eating it so we tired of it after the 2nd meal. Next time I will cut the recipe in half, and add the seasonings I mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This dish was really good the only thing different I did was add more cheese because we are some cheese eaters in my family. Other then that everything else was kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made these for my boyfriend's family and they enjoyed it TREMENDOUSLY. (Hello BONUS!) These really were delicious and the turkey meat made it lighter than say another recipe that uses beef. I, myself, made a few changes, which included: a. 1 cup skim ricotta and 1 cup of cottage cheese instead of the 2 cups cottage cheese. I only did this because I don't enjoy the taste or texture of cottage cheese, but in reality you couldn't taste it when baked. b. Once the spinach was completely thawed out, I squeezed small handfuls of it, in order to remove the water (as to prevent watery-ness when baked). c. A good handful of chopped parsley d. I only boiled the pasta shells for 8 min, because I didn't want them too soft and mushy when I baked them e. I used smoked mozzarella rather than fresh and grated it myself Lastly, I think it could've used an additional clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This stuff is the bomb! My kids and hubby request this all the time and it's way easier than I thought it would be. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States