Stuffed Shells IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Delicious! This was one of the first somewhat complicated recipies I have tried on my own. I took others recommendations and added 2 tbs of italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper & 1/2 tsp oregano. I also used 1 cup ricotta chess to substitute for 1 of the 2 cups of cottage cheese. I added some fresh chopped tomatoes--we love tomatoes! Otherwise followed the recipe and this turned out fantastic!! It made a LOT, so I froze in meal sizes. Leftovers still tasted great..now if I could only get my boyfriend to eat leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was pretty good, but I think the meat mixture needed some extra seasoning, possibly with oregano, basil and more garlic. It seemed a little bland to me. I made 2 changes but I don't think it affected the flavor as far as seasonings go. First, I don't like cottage cheese in anything so I used ricotta. Second, I used fresh spinach as that was all I had. This recipe makes alot! I should have looked at the number of servings because there were only 2 of us eating it so we tired of it after the 2nd meal. Next time I will cut the recipe in half, and add the seasonings I mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This dish was really good the only thing different I did was add more cheese because we are some cheese eaters in my family. Other then that everything else was kept the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made these for my boyfriend's family and they enjoyed it TREMENDOUSLY. (Hello BONUS!) These really were delicious and the turkey meat made it lighter than say another recipe that uses beef. I, myself, made a few changes, which included: a. 1 cup skim ricotta and 1 cup of cottage cheese instead of the 2 cups cottage cheese. I only did this because I don't enjoy the taste or texture of cottage cheese, but in reality you couldn't taste it when baked. b. Once the spinach was completely thawed out, I squeezed small handfuls of it, in order to remove the water (as to prevent watery-ness when baked). c. A good handful of chopped parsley d. I only boiled the pasta shells for 8 min, because I didn't want them too soft and mushy when I baked them e. I used smoked mozzarella rather than fresh and grated it myself Lastly, I think it could've used an additional clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This stuff is the bomb! My kids and hubby request this all the time and it's way easier than I thought it would be. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
LOVE this recipe!! Made for my family on Sunday and they absolutely loved it! Seasoned perfectly and just enough pasta sauce and enough leftover for freezing or as a dish for another family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Ledford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Shells were good, but not what everyone made them out to be. Also, they did not freeze as hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I make these quite often now. I double the recipe and freeze half, so it makes a quick meal for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I undercooked the onion so that was too crunchy. I suspect this is why my 2-year old would not eat it. There was a little too much spinich in this for me but my husband really liked the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking4Gavin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I thought it tasted ok, but my husband told me not to make it anymore. Takes a while to make. The only changes I made were that I didn't use spinach since I didn't have any and I also used beef instead of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States