Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
These were really good. It was nice to have a meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I modified this recipe considerably and then cooked it in a crockpot. I fried burger with onions, added spices-Italian/turmeric/parmesean cheese,(others commented that this recipe had way too much salt so I omitted it and substituted other spices and left out the eggs) spaghetti sauce and one half cube of crème cheese. After cooking the shells in the pampered chef large saucepan in the microwave, I stuffed the shells, then put them in the crockpot on a layer of spaghetti sauce. Then I topped the shells with spaghetti sauce and grated sharp cheese. This cooked for 2 hours on high, during the last 30 minutes I grated more cheese on top. This turned out wonderful and cooked without heating up my kitchen on this 102 degree hot summer day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I havent tried this yet but used this as a base. I have cooked stuffed shells before and just needed a guidline, as my mom memory of 5 kids sets in.... I can tell you that not everyone likes mushrooms. An alternative would/could be sausage, hamburger, broccoli etc and spinach can even go into the mix for a nice boost in nutrition without taking from the taste, and no one will every knnow!! Italian season is better. You always add some sort of garlic to an Italian dish. And shells are always baked covered, or they will be dry. Sauce should go into pan first, then place stuffed shells. I add my ground meats then mozzarella to hold meats into place. Then drizzle top with sauce and put extra filling sides. That is much to much salt and parm. Im not sure how much i use as i normally do my mozzarella by eye and about a cup of parm into mix. 5 eggs makes me think this will be runny. I always use 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Far too sickly. Definitely won't make this again. Couldn't eat it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stonington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very,very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
My family loved the shells, but it was missing something. The next time I made them I used bagged shreds, Mozz/Provolone, Munster, Whole milk Ricotta 2 lb, Philly cream cheese, brick and parm, 8oz of each, to this I added Italian Seasonings, basil, garlic powder, fresh cracked pepper, 1 tsp of salt, and added 2 eggs after I mixed and tasted. I made 60 lg. shells filled about 1 1/2 tsp of filling. Takes 3-4 jars of sauce,(Italian Bread for the extra sauce, tasty after the shells cook) butter your pans, cover bottom with sauce add shells and cover with the remaining sauce, 350 for 30-45 minutes. I made these for a picnic and now anywhere we go this is what I'm asked to bring.. If you love cheese try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Everything about this recipe is very good, except the sauce was way too thick. I ended up doubling the pasta sauce and it way still thick. I think next time I will only add the mozzarella, and only on top. This is a very filling recipe. I lasted three meals. If you are serving only 4 people then I recommend cutting this in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Makes a ton, but we enjoyed these a lot! Froze a pan. Used leftover marinara sauce with beef and peas. Somebody suggested using a bag to pipe the cheese filling into the shells. Bad idea. The cheese was so thick it wouldn't come out of the bag and I felt like my hand was going to break. Gave up and spooned it in. Surprisingly easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
they were really good but i used some ground beef instead of the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Wife loved it. Used only 20 shells in 9x13 inch bowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States