Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Made these tonight. Pleased. Would've liked to have known how much to stuff inside each shell. I ended up with a few shells and no stuffing. I'd recommend, thanks to hindsight, about a heaping teaspoon - actual teaspoon, not measuring spoon. Boiled the shells al dente as described. Rinsed with cold water to stuff. Ricotta only came in 30 oz. container. Used not quite half the mozzarella and freshly grated Parmesan, but did not top with the other half.. went light.. just enough to add cheese to the entire top after covering with sauce. Like another reviewer, I didn't want to overshadow the creaminess of the stuffing. I also halved the salt and pepper. Like yet another reviewer, my husband does not like meatless dishes, so I added 1# of ground sirloin, browned and drained, to 1 jar of Prego... only 24 oz., and 1 can of diced tomatoes. I let that all go for a hard simmer about 30 minutes while dealing with the pasta, so the meat would break down, etc. A nice sauce, just not marinara. We also skipped the mushrooms. I think they'd be nicer with a straight marinara. I'd like to mention that I used a LARGE Corningware 9x13++ lasagna dish, and had I had stuffing for all of the shells, they would not have fit. Use your largest possible 9x13, or anything bigger. I held it to 45 minutes.. 35 with foil on, last 10 with foil off, and it was fine, delicious and pretty, but definitely a mild flavor. I'd play with the sauce in the future, maybe spice it up. Good recipe though, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I would like to add more greens to this dish. Anyone have any luck adding spinach? If so, do I just add the fresh spinach to the sauce when I pour it over? Is 60 minutes too long for the spinach? Any advice is most welcomed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Delicious and easy! Thanks! I added sweet sausage to the sauce, and it's a really good add-on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I added 1/2 pound of ground beef to the sauce. I did not mix the cheeses in with the sauce. I covered the top with moz and parm. Must have measured something wrong. Ended up with two pans. Quickly added another jar of sauce on top of second pan and covered with cheese. Great meal! I'm not a cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I don't like ricotta so I substituted LF cottage cheese. I cut the recipe in half except for the pasta sauce per other reviewers suggestions. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
LOVE these. I've made them many times!!! Did not use as much salt, and used Italian sausage in the sauce mixture ( we don't care for meatless meals) I as other reviews put the mixture in the fridge for a few, it's easier to stuff. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Halved the recipe. Used a 300 gram tub of ricotta because that's the size I had. Left out the mushrooms. Added spinach, oregano, basil, nutmeg, garlic and onion powder to the cheese mixture. They were good but the filling I wanted to be more cheesy and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
My family loved it! Not a mushroom fan so i substituted a pound of ground hot sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was very good, first time I made stuffed shells. 6 year old enjoyed, as did my fiance. I used 2 jars of sauce, and feel it definitely needs it. I poured some into the bottom of the pan before I put the shells in. No mushrooms (cause of the 6 y/o). Very easy and tasty. Next time I'll make with homemade sauce, that would probably knock it out of the park!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABH83186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was quick and easy! Very good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States