Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Great recipe! Super easy to make- I put the filling in a large ziploc bag and cut a slit in the corner and piped the filling into the shells. Next time I will cut the salt in half, cut the cheese topping in half, and add a bit of garlic and basil, but overall its a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Unlike the submitter, we actually prefer cottage cheese over ricotta, so that is what I used. Kids and I don't care for mushrooms, so I omitted those. This recipe wasn't much trouble, and the kids gobbled it down. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Followed this recipe exactly, except I used my own pasta sauce, and 4 oz can sliced mushrooms. It came out very good, my family and I loved it. We didn't find it too salty as others claim. I put the ricotta cheese/egg mixture in the fridge before stuffing the shells like someone suggested, since I had never tried to stuff shells before, and found it very easy to stuff them. Only had a hard time fitting all the shells into one 9x13 pan, but I think this is a really good, easy recipe and serves as yummy leftovers too. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafwife16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I added spinach instead of mushrooms, and half the amount of mozzerella. Would be good with meat sauce. Also added onions to the sauce and used one and 1/2 cans of sauce instead of one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
A little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I love this recipe, I've used it many times.. My sauce always includes one pound of ground beef, 93% lean as well as one pound of Italian mild sausage... I love how there is plenty of filling for all the shells with this recipe.. Just plan to walk after dinner, it's filling !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
very good recipe. baked all in one dish, 30 min covered, 30 min uncovered. i didn't use mushrooms (don't like them) and 1/2 the salt, double the sauce, cut some of the mozzarella topping. will be making this one again - best shell recipe we've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
my only quarrel is that if you're going to the trouble of stuffing your own shells, there's no reason to use gravy (sauce) out of a jar. that said, this is an amazing recipe, the closest i've found to nonna's. and i think the mushrooms are a nice touch. kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Everyone loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was my first time making stuffed shells. They were delicious! I didn't have the amount of mozzarella or Parmesan called for (less than half) and it was not missed at all. I had a great sauce (Newman's Own Roasted Tomato and Garlic) and just dusted the tops with cheese for looks. I only spooned the sauce "as is" over the stuffed shells. As others have mentioned, one jar of sauce is not enough. I also added about 8 oz. thawed frozen spinach to the ricotta mixture and it was great. My 5 year old twins who don't like spinach ate several of these. Because of this recipe, I am looking forward to making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States