Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I love this recipe, I've used it many times.. My sauce always includes one pound of ground beef, 93% lean as well as one pound of Italian mild sausage... I love how there is plenty of filling for all the shells with this recipe.. Just plan to walk after dinner, it's filling !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
very good recipe. baked all in one dish, 30 min covered, 30 min uncovered. i didn't use mushrooms (don't like them) and 1/2 the salt, double the sauce, cut some of the mozzarella topping. will be making this one again - best shell recipe we've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
my only quarrel is that if you're going to the trouble of stuffing your own shells, there's no reason to use gravy (sauce) out of a jar. that said, this is an amazing recipe, the closest i've found to nonna's. and i think the mushrooms are a nice touch. kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Everyone loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This was my first time making stuffed shells. They were delicious! I didn't have the amount of mozzarella or Parmesan called for (less than half) and it was not missed at all. I had a great sauce (Newman's Own Roasted Tomato and Garlic) and just dusted the tops with cheese for looks. I only spooned the sauce "as is" over the stuffed shells. As others have mentioned, one jar of sauce is not enough. I also added about 8 oz. thawed frozen spinach to the ricotta mixture and it was great. My 5 year old twins who don't like spinach ate several of these. Because of this recipe, I am looking forward to making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Really needed some spices and flavoring added to the cheese and sauce. Also, I didn't use any mushrooms. A good reference for time and measurements, but I added a lot of flavors and made something quite different and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cait

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I haded qlbs of ground chuck in with the sauce mixture and made it a little more beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good! I added browned ground sweet italian sausage to the stuffing mix and omitted the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great!! I added 1/2 pound browned Italian sausage to the sauce for an extra kick. Also, we have a family of three so as I stuffed the shells I split the recipe in two smaller baking dishes and put the second one in the freezer for later. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I stuffed the cheese mixture into manicotti shells...which was very very time consuming and messy. I piped the mixture using a ziploc bag. Also, used homemade pasta sauce. Five stars because the mixture was easy to put together and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States