Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
It calls for similar ingredients to manicotti that I usually make. Jumbo shells are much easier to stuff, especially I could stuff the first batch while the second one was cooked. Shells were easier to serve as well. The adjustments I made included, using 1 egg instead of 2, adding some cooked diced onions with shredded zucchini and minced garlic in the stuffing, as well as adding leftover ground beef as the topping because I didn't have mushrooms at that time. I lightly cooked beef in olive oil with some fennel seeds and Italian seasoning to mimic Italian sausage flavor. At the end, the amount of ingredients only allowed me to stuff 25 shells, but it was enough to fill a 9x13 glassware. In addition, I only used about 16 oz of pasta sauce. The remaining of the sauce served on the side for whoever wanted more sauce in the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved this recipe!! So easy and good, except I would leave out the salt all together! It was way to salty for our taste and I omitted the mushrooms but will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Easy recipe and DELICIOUS. I followed the recipe with the recommendations of others to only use 1 tsp of salt. I also piped the filling into the shells using a plastic bag - such a time saver and worked perfectly! The recipe makes more tan a 9X13 pan can hold. My suggestion, after you fill the 9X13, place the rest on a baking sheet (no sauce, just shell & filling) and freeze. Once frozen, pop them into a freezer bag so when you need them next you can choose the quantity you want to bake. I'd put them frozen into sauce with cheese and bake. Easy to make once, and easy to make for a 2nd dinner. (I had about 15 left to freeze after filling my 9X13 - and that was just making a single batch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Everyone loved this dish...makes a lot of shells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
great recipe to have on hand when entertaining guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Loved em! So did the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Best stuffed shell recipe ever! I also browned some ground beef, onion,and garlic to add to the canned sauce. I only had American Swiss cheese but it turned out great. I always use cottage cheese instead of the expensive stuff. I followed the suggestion of piping the cottage cheese mixture into the shells from a zip lock bag, very quick and not at all messy. My Husband says "Finally, my kind of dinner!" We had the leftovers for lunch and dinner again tonight. This will not last in the fridge. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
When I made this I doubled the recipe and the store we were shopping at had a 48oz ricotta and we didn't want to spend a ton more money to get to the amount we needed so we used 16oz of cottage cheese and it was fantastic. I like using a mix of cottage and ricotta in these and a manicotti recipe that we have. I'd recommend trying with 24oz ricotta and 8oz cottage. I also added some oregano, garlic, chopped onion, and a little basil (all dried).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren11993

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Fulton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very tasty! The only problem I had was that there was way too much filling left over, and I even over-stuffed the shells! But, I'll definitely make it again, and maybe make lasagna roll-ups with the left over filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethieanne802

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Good stuffed shell recipe. Would be good with home made sauce but the jar stuff works when time is a factor. I liked these even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States