Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Danielle
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Needed a little more seasoning in the mixture but it made room for a lot of guests and leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Added basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made this recipe with a few adjustments. I halved the recipe and am glad I did, because it still made an ENTIRE 9 by 13 tray of stuffed shells! I did NOT half the sauce amount or it would have been too dry. To my jarred sauce I added 1 lb of seasoned, browned ground beef, 1 small can of sliced black olives, a can of diced tomates, and a can of sliced mushrooms (all drained!). I also pepped up the sauce with garlic, salt, pepper, italian seasoning,a dash of cayenne, and about a tbsp of white sugar. (We like our food well seasoned.) I followed the directions for the filling. The only change I made was to use 4 cheese mexian blend instead of mozzerella because it was all I had on hand. I put a thin layer of sauce on the bottom of the baking dish, then I did the layer of stuffed shells and topped the shells with the remaining sauce. I sprinkled the top of it with parmesean cheese and chose not to mix any cheeses with the sauce so the delicate flavor of the ricotta filling and the yummy sauce stand out. I abked covered until the last 10 or 15 minutes. YUMMY! Next time I may add some spinach to the ricotta mixture to get more veggies and nutrition into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times now and it's delicious! The only thing I do differently is pass on the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Made a few adjustments according to other reviews. Cut the salt to 1/2 tsp, which was plenty. My husband who loves salt, thought it was great without it. Also used about twice as much sauce as it called for. Came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
As prepared, I was a little underwhelmed. I didn't realize how much cheese went into this recipe til I added the 1/2 lb of mozzarella to the pasta sauce. Next time, I will halve the amount of cheese in the sauce and double the amount of sauce. Otherwise, the shells and stuffing were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I used the recipe as a base and followed most of the directions. The only change was a bit more ricotta and I added Cheddar to it because I didn't have enough mozzarella. I also used parley and a little paprika into the mix with some fresh chopped basil. As a sauce I didn't use mushrooms. Instead I used chorizo with onions, basil, garlic, and sauce and sauteed it together before pouring over the shells and baking 50 minutes covered and the last ten minutes uncovered. Everyone in the house loved it!!! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Excellent! Several of the reviews were very helpful. I used my own sauce, and covered the dish with foil until the last 15 minutes, at which time I put slices of fresh mozzerella on top. People who said it was too dry were mostly folks who left out the mushrooms- they add moisture to the recipe, and I kept them in. I did not put cheese in the sauce, but did add 1/2 lb sweet Italian sausage meat. Also, putting the ricotta mixture in the fridge for an hour or so did make it easier to work with. Good recipes, good reviews, this is why I always come back to Allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia St Louis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This recipe was great! I made this for my boyfriend and I and had plenty of leftovers and will be making this again for my mom. We're meat lovers in this house so instead of a 32 once container of ricotta I got a 15 ounce. I browned some ground beef, 1/3 onion (feel free to add more if your onion fans like us), and salt, pepper, garlic salt to taste and put it aside. When I did the ricotta mixture I used 15 ounces of ricotta, and 15 ounces of ground beef into this mixture. Then I added the rest of the ground beef to the sauce and poured it over the shells as stated. and I removed the mushrooms since I'm not a huge fan. Saved some mozzarella and parmesan cheese and sprinkled it over the shells at the very end for a nice layer of cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
HEY PEEPS, for those of you who used the salt amount in this recipe, it probably belonged in the pasta cooking water. Using the jarred sauce would make adding any more salt unnecessary! Great meal for a crowd. Add some good Italian Chianti and a salad and you're solid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States