Stuffed Shells III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Excellent! Several of the reviews were very helpful. I used my own sauce, and covered the dish with foil until the last 15 minutes, at which time I put slices of fresh mozzerella on top. People who said it was too dry were mostly folks who left out the mushrooms- they add moisture to the recipe, and I kept them in. I did not put cheese in the sauce, but did add 1/2 lb sweet Italian sausage meat. Also, putting the ricotta mixture in the fridge for an hour or so did make it easier to work with. Good recipes, good reviews, this is why I always come back to Allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia St Louis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This recipe was great! I made this for my boyfriend and I and had plenty of leftovers and will be making this again for my mom. We're meat lovers in this house so instead of a 32 once container of ricotta I got a 15 ounce. I browned some ground beef, 1/3 onion (feel free to add more if your onion fans like us), and salt, pepper, garlic salt to taste and put it aside. When I did the ricotta mixture I used 15 ounces of ricotta, and 15 ounces of ground beef into this mixture. Then I added the rest of the ground beef to the sauce and poured it over the shells as stated. and I removed the mushrooms since I'm not a huge fan. Saved some mozzarella and parmesan cheese and sprinkled it over the shells at the very end for a nice layer of cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
HEY PEEPS, for those of you who used the salt amount in this recipe, it probably belonged in the pasta cooking water. Using the jarred sauce would make adding any more salt unnecessary! Great meal for a crowd. Add some good Italian Chianti and a salad and you're solid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Hrušková

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is good for vegetarians and non vegetarians alike. Tasty, filling, and easy! I used 1/2 of a box of jumbo shells cooked for 8 minutes or al dente, 1 egg, 15 oz reduced fat ricotta, 1/2 lb fat free mozzarella total, 4oz grated parm but I think it would still be good w/out the parm, 1tsp salt which was a big mistake as this does not need additional salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1jar classico tomato basil, and 8 oz fresh mushrooms chopped. Also, I added freshly chopped baby spinach, 3 cloves of chopped garlic, again fresh and a generous dash of nutmeg to the filling. Nutmeg and spinach dance well together :) one more thing i did was add one 15oz can of petite diced tomatoes and fresh basil to the sauce part. The fat free mozz worked great melting nicely. I covered the 9x13 casserole with aluminum foil and baked for about 35 min give or take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious!! Major hit with the family! So simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
AMAZING! I took out the mushrooms (I'm not a big mushroom fan) and it came out perfectly! My mom and could not stop eating these. I noticed that when the pan was in the oven some of the sauce spilled over so I placed a cookie sheet underneath the pan and it caught all of the sauce. I recommend this recipe to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Delicious! I also halved the salt (and the entire recipe). I used low-fat ricotta and Newman's Own marinara sauce. I also added about two cloves of garlic to the sauce mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
These were good shells. The sauce was good and blended with the cheese well. But, felt like it was missing something??? Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious. We made these without the eggs and mushrooms and cut the salt in half. We added some dried basil and did not put any cheese on top, only the sauce. These made enough for 2 meals so we froze half of them for another dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States