Stuffed Shells I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was a hit, and tasted good. I don't feel like it had anything so awesome about it to give it 5 stars, but it's good enough to make again. Stuffing the shells took a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
wonderful recipe for stuffed shells! great left overs also! i added ricotta cheese to the cottage cheese to get a blend of both cheeses. i cooked bacon and chopped it up and added it to the cheese mixture. i also added chopped fresh spinach to the cheese and it worked out very well! also cooked up a pound of italian sausage with the sauce. i used more garlic and added mozzarella cheese on top of the parm and baked covered 25 min and uncovered 15 min. after all the changes/additions, it turned out AMAZING! i couldnt stop eating it. it is my new favorite pasta dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
so good!!!! used 1/2 cottage cheese and 1/2 ricotta and spread on lasagna noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Good dish. Cooked the shells for seven minute. Used ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by PIDGE
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I followed Sallyjun's recipe to the letter but when I went to stuff the shells using others suggestions of putting mixture in a plastic bag and cutting off a tip to allow mixture to be squeezed out, it was a horrible mess. So, here's what I did. I used my smallest spring loaded scoop, about the size of a golf ball, and filled the scoop to the top and then released the filling into a shell....worked fantastic and there was very little mess. Sometimes these small scoops are hard to find but they are worth their weight in gold. I use it for making cookies. Now back to the recipe. I baked the pasta shells for 20 minutes covering it with non-stick aluminum foil and then removed the foil and baked for another 20 minutes. Turned out perfect. I used Prego which is our favorite red sauce. Hope I've made someone's day with the small spring loaded scoup suggestion. Meanwhile, thanks Sallyjun.....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIDGE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Delicious basic recipe.I made my own sauce instead of jar Prego.big batch...put some in freezer for later this month.I used fresh parsley to give it a zing...and a splash of apple cider vinegar (it's healthy) in the sauce and in the cheese mixture, fresh chopped finely garlic was amazing in the cheese filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I liked it because it was interesting. Cottage cheese instead of Ricotta, for one. The downside is it's vegetarian, no meat. I would suggest adding Italian sausage or other meats to this recipe. Rating: 8/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casman444

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Made exactly as described. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These were good, and I'll try them again. I did like the cottage cheese a lot. But it wasn't a 5-star recipe for me, although I think it's a really good base to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
My grocery store only had a 12oz box of shells which worked fine. I actually could not fit all of the shells in a 9x13 pan. I also used a whole Tbsp of garlic powder as someone suggested, and I feel this is too much. 1/2 Tbsp would be better. I cooked it for 20 mins covered and then 20 minus uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States