Stuffed Shells I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I thought this recipe was ok, i would rather make this with ricotta cheese instead, and maybe a bit more garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Love this recipe! very delicious, if you cover the shells, they wont dry out. I have found if I add meat, the shells get dryer (idk why). Its a great last minute thing if we forget to thaw meat. I highly recommend it! I havent tried filling the shells with the ziplock bag, but I love that idea! The only downfall is my husband is type one diabetic, so i love that this site shows the nutrition facts, but since the cheese is so fatty, its takes a while to digest which is harder on his blood sugar. And lower-fat cheese has more carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I would give this more than five stars if I could! The whole family loved it. I did not use jar spaghetti sauce and instead made my own so I'm rating the shells... loved the cottage cheese for a change up in place of ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made the 4 serving version, but increased the garlic powder as another reviewer suggested. When I opened the box of pasta A LOT of the shells were broken, so glad I was only needing half the box. I used small curd cottage cheese, fresh sauted spinach (drained). I put everything in the mixer to blend it well. I chilled the mixture to make it easier to fill (it made a big difference and I only needed a spoon to fill with). I cooked the shells for 2.5 mins less than the 10 mins on the box....then shocked them in cold water. I had a bunch that had tears in them, but thankfully I was doing a half portion of this recipe. I baked covered with foil for 20 mins and uncovered for 10 mins. I garnished with fresh parsley. Served with potatoes, but the whole time we were wishing we had some garlic bread. They tasted like they came from a fancy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is definitely a family favorite - even my 2 year old loved it! I followed what was suggested in the review by "LITTLEPUFFY" and added spinach and used small curd cottage cheese. I ended up cooking half the shells for dinner and froze the other half. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
The cottage cheese in place of the ricotta, really makes a difference! Rich and delicious! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsDelish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Le Roy, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Unanimous, 5 stars from the whole crew! I added fresh spinach (as is without cooking 1st) in the filling, which worked fine. To stuff the shells, I used a cookie scoop so I didn't need to toss a plastic bag. This worked well. Was it still a bit messy? Sure, but it really helped. I ran out of filling which may have been my fault as I filled them quite full. Next time I will stick with 1 box of shells which is 12 oz. instead of using 16 oz.. I did as another reviewer suggested and cooked the pasta for 2 1/2 minutes less than the directions. Great idea! The shells held up well during stuffing and were just right when it came time to eat them. I used Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce from this site, which I highly recommend especially for those of you missing meat in the dish, as it is in the sauce. My husband suggested I make this the next time we have company over; now that's a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Easy and delicious! I also added spinach, more garlic powder, and black pepper, as others recommended. Using a plastic sealable bag to pipe in the cheese mixture was such a great idea! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wonderful. My family loved them. I did add the chopped spinach. Ymm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I used small curd cottage cheese instead of large curd. I pulled one over on my husband with this recipe, he HATES cottage cheese but I whipped it up enough that he had no qualms, as a matter of fact, he really liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States