Stuffed Shells I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
very easy to make...the only thing I did different is I used 2 cloves of garlic minced instead of the powder. My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY BERG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsreinarts
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Alright, so I've made this recipe once already and I LOVED it. My husband is a total carnivore, I am planning on making these tonight or tomorrow for dinner and I will add some hamburger or chopped chicken breast to half of the cheese mixture. I always use a different amount of spices to everything I cook but I am sure I will be using fresh garlic, and at least quadrupling it. Oregano, parsley, and basil are regulars in all of my cooking too. My mother used to cook this for my family when I was younger and it would take her such a long time to fill the shells with a spoon. I did use the advice of others and used a Ziploc gallon sized baggie. This TOTALLY helped I couldn't imagine NOT using this. Super helpful. I did add extra sauce to the shells and it was yummy but it made for adding more shells to the pan harder. I think this time I'll add the regular amount of sauce and then cook more on the side to add later. Overall, I think this recipe is just as good as my mother's is, GREAT JOB! This is an excellent recipe! Thank you for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsreinarts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Spring Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very yummy recipe! I had left over spinach artichoke dip in the refrigerator that I used about 3/4 cup of and reduce the cottage cheese accordingly. Then used Prego meat flavored sauce. Excellent combination! Tasted a lot like lasagna and my husband loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicious. My whole family loved it. I used the fresh herbs instead of the dried. Just my prefaced. I used the small curd cottage cheese, but will try lg curd next time to see the difference. I baked it covered for 20 minutes and 15 minutes uncovered as suggested and it came out perfect. This is a keeper as my husband would say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Kemper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This recipe is amazing as is! I LOVE it! I did not have shells, so I used Manicotti. I have made it 3 times, sometimes freezing a batch for hectic nights. I have started making it with sausage/ground beef mixed into the sauce! Makes it even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Just wanted to let all of you die-hard ricotta fans know that until this past year I, too, would never think of using cottage cheese. I decided to give it a try with lasagna and now I will never go back to ricotta. I tried it in this recipes and again it was fantastic. But don't tell my family. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My family really liked this, I used half Ricotta and half cottage cheese, 1 lb. mild Italian sausage which I browned in a skillet with chopped onions and added to the sauce. extra shredded cheese, a package of spinach squeezed as much of the water out that I could and added to the cheese mixture and two jars of spaghetti sauce. Great recipe! It filled two 13 x 9 pans. One to eat and one to freeze. I'm adding it to my book of favs. Thanks SALLYJUN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made the recipe as is - it turned out great with LOTS of leftovers! This recipe is only a 4 because the cheese mixture inside the shells could be a little bit more set together instead of runny and with any italian casserole dish you need to cover the pan with foil for most of the cooking so that your pasta does not dry out. I cooked for around 40 minutes. The leftovers the next day are even yummier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was excellent. I followed the recipe as is, and I'll make it again for sure. I have never liked stuffed shells because I hate ricotta, but this was awesome with the cottage cheese. Oh, I did use the small curd. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Oh yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States