Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very good! Could use some garlic and cook spinach before baking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made just a few changes and additions. I substituted ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese, and added some garlic and a little salt to the spinach mixture. I also only used one red bell pepper, as I think two would have been overwhelming. It turned out really well - my whole house loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was a quick and easy recipe. I didnt change a thing and thought it was great. Cottage cheese is a great change from the usual ricotta in most recipes and red pepper added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norahS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I sautéed the spinach first in garlic... A touch I highly recommend! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Devinsmommy920
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
We had to add a LOT more sauce to prevent the shells from getting hard. (pic posted) I made 2 batches. I am not a fan of cooked spinach, but thought we could give this a try, see if the flavor is hidden enough. there was waaaay too much (which is why I made 2 batches) With my 2nd batch I ran out of spaghetti sauce and had to get a can of mushroom spaghetti sauce ::bleh:: which is all we had in the house. My fiance would prefer meat in his shells. I thought they were pretty good though. DEFINATELY had to add garlic. I took the advice and sauteed them with the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devinsmommy920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Could not find shells. Had manicotti on hand. Didn't have time to freeze a manicotti casserole, so had to cook the manicotti first. Rather than fight the soft noodles that were tearing anyway, we tore the manicotti into sheets & used them like lasagna. Doubled the recipe (only 700ml sauce tho), used 8 ounces of pasta. Layered: first a touch of tomato sauce: then spinach mixture, tom sc, pasta, ending w/sc & then the 'mozz'. Baked as directed. Added onion, garlic & salt, but otherwise made no extra additions (well, I did substitute some ricotta for some cottage cheese; and a little parmesan, and of all things, queso fresco for all the mozzerella - still very yummy). USED FRESH SPINACH, AND SHOULD HAVE VERY LIGHTLY STEAMED WELL SPUN SPINACH IN ORDER TO REMOVE A LITTLE OF THE MOISTURE, BUT THE CASSEROLE WAS NOT UTTERLY RUINED BY THE BIT OF MOISTURE IN THE BOTTOM OF THE CASSEROLE. I WAS AFRAID IT WOULD BE WHEN WE CUT INTO THE BEAUTIFUL CASSEROLE, BUT THE FLAVOR WAS: LASAGNA-LITE. This did not compare directly to a meaty lasagna, but my husband is quite pleased w/the results & so am I. My boys think the only way to go is gobs of meat & cheese, but hubs, daughter & I know better, & hope they will someday too. We love a meaty/cheesy lasagna, but are changing: won't always eat that way. A little leftover. Served w/fresh salad: so downed 20oz. of greens between the five of us, along w/a cucumber, tomato, onion, & some garlic. That's what I call: Yummy, nutritious success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
whole family loved this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Best shells I have made. Substitued ricotta cheese for cottage cheese. Use Bertolli's organic olive oil, garlic, basil sauce. Very cheesy & flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was very good. I went by the recipe but with the advice of others, added garlic. I used fat free cottage cheese and reduced fat shredded mozzarella. I also made half with ground beef added because my husband likes meat in everything. I actually thought the plain spinach/cheese without the meat was better. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made these last night! Amazingness! simple, delicious, and fun to eat! my kids also loved them, so thats a five star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Coppola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States