Stuffed Pumpkin I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Those of you that have not tried this recipe, you are really missing a fabulous side dish. You can also substitute ground turkey for beef or venison. In the fall when the pumpkins/squash are ready, I think of this dish. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Made this tonight with ground turkey cooked in oil, otherwise the same...delicious! Next time I'll up the spices to better suit our taste. To serve, slice the pumpkin into wedges. Presentation is beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I know this recipe from a Native American cookbook. I don't use pumpkin but other squash...spaghetti, yellow and zuccini. It is dry so I add sauted mushrooms, a can of corn and diced bell pepper. I also add some garlic and onion powder, maybe a dash (or two)of Tobasco and increase the sage and pepper. My family likes it...also the mixture tastes good for stuffing bell peppers***Marcia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I've not used this recipe. However I've had this many times since childhood. In my family we've always used a combination of ground sausage, celery, red peppers, and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEANZILLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
A little dry, but delicious. Had to use wet mustard on the inside of the pumpkin. Shared it w/fam -they loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emily.c.craggs@gmail.com
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is a good recipe that can be made better with some easy changes. First, I just used 1 cup of minute brown rice because it's way easier. I didn't use mustard to season the inside; instead I used seasoning salt. Then I threw the following in a deep pot and cooked until the meat was browned and vegetables translucent: 1/2 cup chopped onion, 2 stalks of celery chopped, and garlic with 1 pound of ground pork. I've used Jimmy Dean's sage pork sausage with really tasty results too. I don't usually drain the meat because the moisture helps keep the finished product from drying out too much as some of the other reviewers noted. The celery gives it a nice element, and I'm thinking about adding mushrooms next time too. Then I took it off the heat and added the rice, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp worchestire, 1 tsp dried ground sage, and 1/2 tsp pepper. After it was cool enough that I wouldn't scramble my eggs, I added only 2 eggs. I cooked the pumpkin for about 2 hours at 350 in a water-filled dish covered with foil. This recipe makes for a great presentation on a Halloween or Thanksgiving buffet line and it tastes great. You just have to make sure the pumpkin is soft enough that you scoop its meat out along with the pork mixture. Also, leftovers can be scraped out of the shell and actually taste better the second time around after the pumpkin is microwaved and gets even softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily.c.craggs@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This recipe was easy and very tasty. I did add a little mixed spice, tabasco sauce and Worcestshire sauce as I didn't want it to dry out. I also used minced pork and veal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
My family found this recipe quite dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Awful, not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States