Stuffed Pork Roast with Herb Seasoned Artichoke and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
My family Loved this recipe. I served it some mashed potatoes and gravy and Broccoli. What a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Wow! Good enough for company and/or holidays! This looked and tasted like it was very hard to make. I followed the recipe as closely as I could with the ingredients I had on hand. Close enough to say I followed the recipe. I don't normally use much salt and this tasted pretty salty. Next time I will try to alter the salty ingredients, but that's just my personal preference. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jehanson
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
5 stars for the stuffing but the pork roasting directions didn't work in our house. 45 minutes at 400º way - way over done. Thank goodness the stuffing was a big hit. I do have a thermometer but the pork is so thin after butterflying that I can't imagine it would be accurate. I would do 350-375 for 30 minutes and see how that looks. We like pork a little pink. Also, I made have the stuffing for 7 of us and we cleaned out the bowl. After stuffing there was enough to put in a 1 quart baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Simple and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very good...even hubby that does not like artichokes liked it. My daughter liked it except for the mushrooms...would like to have it again minus the shrooms. Only complaint wax that the outside was a bit dry....next time would oil and sear/brown it first. Used half since I used a smaller piece of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
The stuffing mixture in this recipe will be our go-to stuffing for holidays. I used more bread crumbs that called for because the mixture seemed too wet, and I'm glad I did. YUMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Five stars - WITH some small, but certainly not minor, modifications. To rate this any lower might risk turning people off to trying it, and this roast was too good to risk that. I started with a not quite three pound roast, which I had my meat cutter butterfly for me. Because of its size, I basically reduced the stuffing ingredients by half. Using fresh mushrooms, shallots and garlic I made a duxelles - finely mince the ingredients, saute in butter for several minutes until it sort of resembles a paste, then deglaze with a splash of white wine. To that I added the artichokes and parsley, a cup of chicken broth (remember, I'm making about half a recipe of stuffing) and only enough Herb Seasoned Stuffing to absorb the broth. Added salt and pepper to taste. Rather than plopping the stuffing all in the center of the roast I spread it over the entire roast (which I salt and peppered as well), to within a half inch of the edges, creating a pinwheel effect. After tieing the roast with kitchen twine as directed in the recipe, I roasted it at 450 degrees for 10 minutes, then lowered the temperature to 350 and roasted it for another hour, until an instant read thermometer read 155 degrees. The meat was moist and tender, and the stuffing phenomenal, possibly the best I've ever had. This was just for me and Hubs but it was so beautiful and elegant it would be a great company entree to impress. This involves more than the usual preparation, but it was worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Will not make again. Very wet stuffing, and very blah tasting. If you are determined to make this though, I would suggest that you brine it as suggested by one of the reviewers, as that was the one thing that did help the roast be moist and not dried. I don't recall ever giving any recipe this bad of a review on ALL RECIPES! Sorry guys and gals but that is the way I call this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Superb! The only change I made was to rub the loin in olive oil and a little garlic powder, and then coat with Italian bread crumbs. Everyone raved over this one, and it is such a beautiful presentation. I wish I could give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I followed other reviewer’s suggestions and brined the meat (1/4 cup each salt & sugar dissolved in water/soak for 1.5-2 hours) then seared it. Also, I waited & added broth gradually to the stuffing until it was the consistency I wanted so I wouldn't have trouble with it leaking out. I didn't have kitchen twine so I had to substitute long skewers to hold it together -- not as easy as twine, but it worked. I used a large pork loin, so I had trouble getting the stuffing up to the correct temperature without overcooking the meat. Next time I won't put as much stuffing in the center if I have such a large loin. It was my fault since I probably used more than the 3 cups recommended. Everyone loved it! My 10 year old said to tell you it was "super good"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States