Stuffed Pork Chops with Gorgonzola and Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
While this is an excellent idea and excellent flavor combination, the sauce is a problem. In order to brown it, you have to reduce it so far down that it becomes super salty and overpowering (plus it takes quite a while). I would definitely make this again, but either leave the sauce off entirely, leave it white, or brown the chops in a pan and use that to brown my sauce. This turned out really good in the end, but it did take some serious caressing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
An expensive disappointment! Maybe this recipe is just too 'gourmet' for me to pull off with my *apparently limited* skills, but it came out pretty bad. Even though I took the extra time to brine the pork as recommended by another reviewer, it still came out tough and dry. Other than adding that step, I followed the recipe as written. The flavors of the stuffing were OK together although I thought the thyme overpowered both the apples and cheese. The cheese never really melted into the sauce (again, that might be a technique thing that I just didn't do well). Somehow the sauce came out VERY salty even though I didn't add any salt, aside from the brine. I will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
this recipe was very good. i thought it took a bit too long to make and it was a bit rich, but my husband (whoo hoo, im five days into my marriage) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
One suggestion- after I stuffed the chops, I seared them in some hot olive oil in a heavy-bottomed skillet before i baked them. Just long enough to golden-brown the outside of the chops. they stayed perfectly moist inside, and got a little more of the crispy, carmelized flavor you expect from grilled pork. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I didn't find these all that great, but I'm not a huge fan of pork. I love gorgonzola cheese, but this recipe was really strong...I gave it four stars because my husband loved it and he is kind of picky so something about it must have been pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie Mowry Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremen, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Really easy, really tasty. Great fusion of flavors. Pork came out tender. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mefunie2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I made this with Mozzerella cheese instead and it was the bomb! I really liked how the onions and the apples blended together. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These didn't taste right. I don't think the apples and the gorgonzola cheese go well together. I'm not making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This recipe is really easy and so incredibly good. My husband is a pizza kind of guy and he LOVED it! He even said it would be good to add into our weekly routine. That's saying something! I did it the first time with blue cheese crumbles and it tasted great. I've done it with gorgonzola as well and it tasted pretty much the same. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Easy and very flavorful. Great for entertaining or a quiet dinner for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States