Stuffed Pork Chops with Gorgonzola and Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is sooooo fantastic! My chops were a little dry, but next time they will be perfect. Dan LOVED them, and couldn't get enough of the sauce, which I make with white wine instead of chicken stock. Gorgonzola has a very very strong flavor so you might try a couple two (3..4) drips of honey along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I've made this a few times and it's always a hit. Gorgonzola is too strong for my hubby so I use regular blue cheese and I saute extra apples to put in the sauce on top. Like others, I brown the pork chops before baking and I use the same pan to make the sauce, which helps give it a richer flavor a bit faster. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is really good, I made a few changes to make it more of a rich meal. I added some cream cheese and cooked bacon bits to the apple stuffing and it was really really good. I also use flat thin boneless pork chops and rolled them and secured them with a tooth pick to cook them. I browned them before I baked them and I had some of the apple stuffing left over and I topped the chops with it so there would be more apples. The last change I made was that I didnt pre-cook the apples I just stuffed them because that would have been cooking them twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa's Fab Kitchen online

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I love this recipe for a "something special" recipe..the apple provides sweet tartness and the gorgonzola cheese savory..compliments each other well... also,I like the fact it isnt stuffed with bread crumbs. I added a small amount chopped onion sauteed in olive oil to stuffing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Definitely worthy of a special occasion. So rich and delicious. Very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I had high expectations, but unfortunately this fell a little short for me. My personal preference would be to leave the thyme out or sub it with something different, it was just too strong in my opinion. I wanted the apples to be the star of the dish and I barely noticed they were there. The sauce was good however, no extra salt needed as it gets pretty salty when reduced. Next time I will at least double if not triple the apple and replace the thyme with another herb or just leave it at the apples and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Sub feta for gorgonzola and shiraz for sherry. Wonderful! Would double the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmom1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I am on the fence with this recipe. I cannot put my finger on it, but something was missing. I am not sure if it was the tartness of the Granny Smith apple or something else. The only change I made was to use some Season All Salt on the outside of the chops and only cooked for appx. 45 mins. The pork chops were juicy and all, but I do not think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I didn't have sherry so used 1 TBsp dry red wine. And my gorgonzola was like brie so didn't crumble. Otherwise I followed the recipe and it was excellent. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Wonderful. My husband loved it. Braised the stuffed chops as 1 reviewer suggested and reduced baking time by about 20 -25 minutes. Juicy and yummy. I did not have any trouble getting the sauce to reduce and did not find this recipe to be time consuming as one reviewre stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States