Stuffed Pork Chops with Gorgonzola and Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I dredged the chops in flour mixed with a little salt and rosemary before cooking. The flavors melded incredibly. I didn't butterfly the pork chops since I only had thin cut, but I put the sauce over it and it worked great. I served them with a side of Gorgonzola mashed potatoes (just stirred in about a quarter cup of crumbles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made a mistake and used Gouda Cheese instead of the Gorgonzola and I have to say it was a GREAT mistake to make. This was a huge hit with the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ednprod

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I just spread the extra Gorgonzola on top of the chops instead making the sauce. Really good recipe! Even the hubby likes it and he hates when I experiment. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Although I had to improvise with Feta (mishap with the grocery list), I was thrilled with the result. Used the same amount of traditionl crumbled Feta in lieu of the gorgonzola, browned the pork chops prior to baking them (as others had suggested), and then used a meat thermometor so as not to overcook (160 F). For those that were having issues wth the sauce, I followed another reviewer's suggestion of using the same pan and remaining drippings from the browning of the pork. Also, rather than using the remaining 1/4 c chicken broth as the recipe suggested, I added another tbsp or so of sherry about halfway through, continuously mixing with a whisk, and the sauce reduced beautifully. We served it with a sauteed pepper/onion mix over spinach salad (using the sauce as the dressing) and a wild rice dish leftover from another meal. Ridiculously delicious. We were too hungry to remember the photo, but it was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Thanks to earlier reviewers for tips because you encouraged me and helped me. Excellent entre when ingredients are followed EXACTLY-- and the sauce is essential. Browning chops, then using that pan for the sauce, likely did the trick. We're in Portugal so we needed to use roquefort in lieu of gorgonzola, but we did find the tart Granny Smith apples. We will wow our Portuguese friends at future dinner parties with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this dish tonight. Wow what flavor. I used a pork lion roast and butterflied it stuffed with the apple and cheese mixture. I tied the lion and seared in olive oil, I used a heavy pan as a weight to help the coloring process. I used extra apples and added some uncooked apple to the bowl prior to adding the cheese, this added more apple flavor and some texture. I didn't make the sauce, but did make a sage dressing. I plated with sage dressing, extra apple stuffing mixture, then added the pork and for a little more salty flavor added extra gorgonzola cheese. I loved the flavor. I served an oven roasted red potato recipe that I also found on this site. The potatoes were drizzled with a mixture of butter, dry mustard and honey. I will be adding this dish to my diet on more than a special occasion. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naylor, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Awesome! I changed the serving size to 5. used 2.5 apples. I used one pork roast that was about 2 lbs and 2 smaller chops. Went very easy on the thyme. I rubbed a premade pork seasoning on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
One of the best tasting meals I've made yet! I used blue cheese instead of gorgonzola, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Other than using 8 thin boneless chops, I followed this recipe exactly. Rolling the stuffing mixture up in pounded out chops secured with toothpics worked well. This was a hit with the family. Will definitely make this again. May try using feta or blue cheese next time... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This really is delicious. I prepared this for a dinner party of eight, with broccoli and mashed potatoes. Since I like simple- I thot it time consuming to make each individual "pocket". Next time I will just take a braised pork loin, slice it and add that wonderful cheese/apple/thyme suace on the top. This is not your usual roast & potatoes and I will be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gisele

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States