Stuffed Pork Chops with Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Ok. I made this wonderful dish without the sauce. I made the filling (cranberries, boiling water, cinnamon, cloves, brown sugar--I omitted pine nuts), and I'll tell you, in my personal opinion, that was enough sauce for the whole dish. It came out EXCELLENT. My momma couldn't stop talking about how delicious it was and I was just pleased as punch with the outcome. The sweet spiciness of the cranberries contrasted perfectly with the saltiness of the pork chop. Next time I will be sure to use less cloves--for they pack a powerful punch. Perhaps 1/4 tsp instead of half. Now, keep in mind even though I omitted the sauce I was only making two chops. So if you are cooking for four and choose to omit the sauce you MUST double the cranberry filling. When the pork chops finished cooking I made a small bed of the cranberry filling on a plate, laid the chop on it, and lastly dabbled a little cranberry filling on top of the pork chop. Now from my experience, the side I used was a twice baked stuffed potato--with sour cream, bacon, chives, and gouda. It contrasted PERFECTLY. Some of my potato mixed in with the cranberry filling and they were two perfect matches. Im serious about this people! I'm not gonna lead yall astray here! Lastly I had a side salad with a basic head of lettuce, all natural balsalmic vinagrette and homeade croutons. The salad, however you may choose to make it, added an outstanding crunch to the whole meal. I couldn't finish my plate and I was sad :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very time consuming recipe, but well worth it! I also only made two pork chops, but that worked out nicely because we enjoyed having more of the cranberry filling to put on top of the chops. I made the sauce but we really didn't use it, the next time I make these, which I will be for sure, I will not be making the sauce. It came out runny for me and did not add tons of flavor, so I will just leave it out next time. Overall, awesome recipe! I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This meal was simple, experimental and exceptionally tastey! I used sage instead of cloves and that mixed perfectly with the flavor of the cranberry. It was lightly sweet, unlike the normal cranberry tanginess. In the future I might add in more pine nut, I feel that would take out some of the sweetness and add a more savory feel! I would absolutely recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is the best stuffed pork chop I have ever eaten. I have often searched for a pork chop recipe that would flavor the pork and this one does just that. A wonderful culinary experience. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
We loved this. I did not have pine nuts so I just omitted them but I did add a little goat cheese to the stuffing. I think it gave it a great flavor and was a good contrast to the sweet cranberries. I also did not take the time to make the sauce but instead made a little extra stuffing, heated it through and served on top. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Unfortunately, we didn`t like this dish at all. I can`t believe I wasted time and good and not cheap ingredients making this. The chops were absolutely tasteless. The recipe makes too much cranberry sauce which is too watery, not salty and really lack of flavor. The sauce uses too much chicken stock that "kills" other ingredients. The final sauce tastes like chicken stock coloured and a little flavored with red wine. 1 cup of the sauce is too much, the meat soaks and loses its flavor and we didn`t like that after baking the meat wasn`t baked, but was boiled. This cooking process made the meat tasteless and not tasty. The cranberry filling itself is delicious, but it doesn`t make the whole dish with the meat. Sorry, but we were really upset and disappointed with this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was the best pork chop recipe ever. It will be hard to make another recipe after having this one. It was absolutely delicious. My whole family raved about it. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These were delicious and easy! I used thick center cut pork chops. The needed to bake about 15 minutes before they were done. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
A-MAZ-ING!!!This is my first time rating a recipe... and it's because this was so good. Would be a great holiday tradition meal, but good anytime. I had no pine nuts, so I substituted with chopped almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Great flavor... I did not use any wine but replaced the wine with more chicken stock and a little more cranberry juice in the sauce... Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Oak Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States