Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
My husband said it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used turkey burger instead and I cooked onion with it instead of adding onion powder. I also used garlic & herb no salt seasoning. I also 1/2 the peppers in put them in a 13x9 pan.. It made about 11 peppers. And I covered the peppers with tin foil. The last 5 minutes I removed and lightly sprinkled with cheddar cheese. It was DELICIOUS!! My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Thanks to all who offered suggestions and tips. I browned the ground beef with fresh chopped onion and garlic. I added one can of Rotell to a 15 oz can of tomato sauce to add some heat and then simmered the rice in the tomato sauce/Rotell mixture. (Reviewers are correct the beef/rice mixture would have been too dry without that added can of Rotell.) Mixed everything together and baked. This was my first time making stuffed peppers but hubby said these were as good as his mother's peppers. Great way to use up red peppers and hamburger that doesn't require a bun. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Make it ahead and pop in the oven when you get home! This was good! I didn't have tomato sauce on hand, so I substituted a can of Hunt's Garlic & Herb Spaghetti Sauce, to which I added 2 Tbsp. Worcestershire and 2 Tbsp. brown sugar. I did cook and drain the beef first. I did not blanch the peppers. MAKE AHEAD: I put everything together earlier in the day and placed in the fridge. When it was time to cook, I pulled the dish (covered with foil) out of the fridge and cooked for about 50-55 minutes. The peppers were just done enough - not mushy and not too crunchy. My family (including two teenage girls) told me to save this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Fantastic!! The only thing I did differently was book the hollowed peppers for 8 minutes before filling them. I also used cheddar cheese and poured a layer of sauce in between layers of beef/rice stuffing and on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I really liked this recipe for the most part, however I used all colors of bells and each had a little different flavor.I also cooked my rice first but did not cook the meat until I put in oven.The only thing I added was some finely diced fresh tomatoes from our garden and that added a lot of freshness. did not precook bells,I just covered with foil and baked for approx.40minutes,removed foil added parmesan cheese and cooked until lightly browned****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
My husband loves his mother's stuffed pepper recipe. It calls for tomato juice laced with brown sugar for basting. She cooks hers on top of the stove. I made half of this recipe. I made some changes: I added 2-3 T. of brown sugar to the stuffing, used crushed tomatoes because my local grocery store doesn't carry tomato sauce (the consistency is fairly close), used brown rice instead of white, put all of the tomatoes in with the meat and rice before stuffing, and covered the peppers with their tops for baking. I wish that I had followed someone's suggestion of blanching the peppers first. I didn't feel like the pepper was cooked enough which is why I gave this recipe a 4 instead of a 5. My husband was satisfied with the sweetness of the stuffing with the little bit of brown sugar added. The sweetness was pretty light actually. I believe that sugar is added to tomato sauce, but not to crushed tomatoes, so what I added may have been just enough to make up the difference. The ground beef that I buy is quite lean, so I never drain it after cooking. I used some leftover rice that I had in my freezer, so I thought this recipe was quick and easy. My husband (the dishwasher) was pleased that I didn't dirty a lot of pots in making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Enjoyed the recipe a lot but the peppers should be covered for the first 30 minutes of cooking and uncovered for the last 30 minutes so that the peppers come out a little more tender and not so tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Revere, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is a very good recipe, But I added pine nuts and diced onions, garlic minced, and diced celery, I also added extra basil and additional Worcestershire sauce and Italian seasoning, Julianne carrots maybe good in it also. may like to beat one egg and add to the meat mixture prior to filling peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I add chopped mushrooms and onions...perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States