Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is a great basic recipe! Not sure what all the back and forth about boiling, covering, etc. in the reviews is about. I followed the prep/cooking instructions, and I highly recommend you season to your personal taste. The instructions are clear and make a really good finished product. I had fun reading all the Reviews while they were in the oven. I changed the spices up, added a little heat, but that's a normal part of being a home cook. If you don't already know, the easiest way to remove ribs is to scrape with a spoon. Oh, and I had six large green bell peppers and this was sufficient to fill. They aren't super saucy, but they're moist and meaty as written. BDEGER, thanks for sharing! Looks like a lot of people have tried and enjoyed these. Also a very budget friendly meal. There are some good reviewer tips about preparing ahead to make prep even easier. Try and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Newton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I tried this recipe almost exactly as described. The only change that I made was boiling the peppers before I filled and baked them. I am no chef, but I can follow a recipe. These peppers came out wayyyyy too undercooked. It was like eating a raw pepper and there was absolutely no flavor. It would have been even worse if I did not boil the peppers. My husband and I were highly disappointed. I rarely write reviews, but felt it was necessary on this one. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was great, a nice comforting meal for winter. Instead of ground beef, I had a package of ground pork and bacon that I used (yum!) in addition to brown rice, minced onion and minced garlic. I cut the recipe down to two servings, but used all of the 15 ounce can of tomato sauce and added shredded colby jack cheese on top for the last five minutes of baking time. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I altered the recipe just a bit. I added some sugar to the tomato sauce to make less tart, I sauteed chopped sweet onions with the ground beef and I added some canned diced tomatoes to sauce. I kept tasting the sauce until I got the spices exactly where I wanted them. Also, I wrapped each pepper in aluminium foil while baking them. I kept them moist and the basting juices were able to be sprinkled into the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made this last night. It's a good recipe, but I made some changes, hence the four stars. First, I used red peppers instead of green, just for different flavor (and they had a great sale going on). I doubled the mixture because these peppers were huge. I ended up using an extra can of sauce which I mixed with a little water. This made it easier to baste them. After about 1/2 hour I covered the baking dish with aluminum foil to retain heat and soften the peppers. One of the other reviewers wrote that she layered cheese in the peppers, so I did that. They turned out pretty good! They're even better the next day. Next time I'll blanch the peppers before filling so that they will be softer. Good recipe, Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
his recipe only filled like 5 peppers and there was no sauce to baste these. other then that they were ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Husband loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah MacDougall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
made it last week, the hub said it was the best thing I ever cooked, followed the recipe as is and came out great :) served with red potato hash browns. making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Second time I made this - delicious and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 896) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States