Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was great, a nice comforting meal for winter. Instead of ground beef, I had a package of ground pork and bacon that I used (yum!) in addition to brown rice, minced onion and minced garlic. I cut the recipe down to two servings, but used all of the 15 ounce can of tomato sauce and added shredded colby jack cheese on top for the last five minutes of baking time. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I altered the recipe just a bit. I added some sugar to the tomato sauce to make less tart, I sauteed chopped sweet onions with the ground beef and I added some canned diced tomatoes to sauce. I kept tasting the sauce until I got the spices exactly where I wanted them. Also, I wrapped each pepper in aluminium foil while baking them. I kept them moist and the basting juices were able to be sprinkled into the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made this last night. It's a good recipe, but I made some changes, hence the four stars. First, I used red peppers instead of green, just for different flavor (and they had a great sale going on). I doubled the mixture because these peppers were huge. I ended up using an extra can of sauce which I mixed with a little water. This made it easier to baste them. After about 1/2 hour I covered the baking dish with aluminum foil to retain heat and soften the peppers. One of the other reviewers wrote that she layered cheese in the peppers, so I did that. They turned out pretty good! They're even better the next day. Next time I'll blanch the peppers before filling so that they will be softer. Good recipe, Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
his recipe only filled like 5 peppers and there was no sauce to baste these. other then that they were ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Husband loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah MacDougall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
made it last week, the hub said it was the best thing I ever cooked, followed the recipe as is and came out great :) served with red potato hash browns. making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Second time I made this - delicious and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Good basic recipe which I tweaked to save time and preparation. I used brown rice, uncooked, and did not brown the meat. I mixed those together with uncooked chopped onion and garlic (to taste) along with the Worcestershire sauce. I stuffed two red peppers and 2 small poblanos, which I sliced horizontally. I used 1 can of tomato sauce mixed with 1 can of diced tomatoes seasoned with Italian seasonings. Pour enough of the sauce to cover the bottom of the pan (8 x 8) and the rest pour over the top of the peppers. Bake for 1 1/2 hrs. covered, basting every 1/2 hour. I uncovered it and baked it for an additional half hour. They were very tender and flavorful with the additional cooking and the rice perfectly cooked with the basting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Finke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannie Taylor
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I love this recipe, just tweaked it a little.before i started cooking meat i added about 4tbsp of butter nd sauted an onion with crushed garlic then added meat with all the ingredients but we like it with a little kick so i added 4-5 dashes of ground cayenne..also added a cup of water to the meat so it can be a little moist when i added my rice.also added colby cheese on the bottom nd between layers..covered with foil nd baked for about 1.5 hrs..no basting needed..PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
A little bland and I hate actually stuffing the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 892) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States