Stuffed Peppers with Creole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Bobbie Jean Wanted let u know I made this tonight & it was awesome!!!! Husband was happy & we both loved it!!!! Thank you for sharing it, Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
The filling was amazing! Unfortunately 4 out of 5 consumers in my house don't like peppers themselves. Not a fault of the recipe, a fault on the cook who decided to make stuffed PEPPERS. But everyone loved the beefy filling. I used 2 red, 2 orange and 2 yellow peppers and boiled them for 5 minutes before hand instead of microwaving them. I went a little astray on the 'Creole' part of the recipe. I was going for more Italian, but I chose this recipe for the method and proportions more than the actual ingredients. So I did change things up a bit. I omitted the chili powder, sugar, clove and bay leaf. I used a 15 oz. can of Progresso's Roasted Tomato recipe starter instead of plain tomato sauce. I browned the beef, added the onion and fried until translucent, added precooked minute rice, crushed tomatoes, (w/ the juice) garlic and 1/2 cup of water. I put some Italian seasoning and spices in the recipe starter, with salt and pepper and added about a 1/2 cup to the beef mixture. I stuffed the peppers and this was enough to fill them pretty full. Then I spooned the Starter sauce over the tops and had some left over. I baked them in the oven for 20 minutes. Mixed about a 1/2 a cup of sour cream w/ ranch seasoning into the recipe starter sauce spooned that over the top of the peppers then added shredded cheese on top and baked for 5 minutes more. Then I plated the peppers cut them in half and spooned the rest of the sauce over them. They were AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saritah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
These were good. Not my best dinner though. I guess I was hoping for something a little more saucy and sloppy. The sauce firmed up on top and they were a tad dry. Some tweaking may help. Could have creoled em up a little more with a little Tony's, but overall a good flavor... Oh, also, the peppers really need to be cooked before stuffing, and 45 seconds was not enough. I microwaved them for about 2 minutes and cooked them in the oven for about 45 minutes. The longer they cook, the better the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I found the chili powder did overpower the taste of the sauce, and the stuffing was bland. I also parboilded the green peppers because heating them in the microwave did not work well. My husband enjoyed it, however. I will continue my search for a good stuffed pepper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My husband loved this creole recipe. Will do this one again and didnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This came out so well!! I used red peppers instead of green and the juices from the red peppers were so sweet and amazing. I substituted equal for sugar. I also added green olives and olive juice to the sauce for more flavor. I used fresh crushed tomatoes instead of canned, tomato paste instead of tomato sauce, and brown rice instead of white. I minced mushrooms in the sauce as well. I also added a cajun seasoning to the sauce. This recipe was amazing!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I wasn't a huge fan of this one but my husband and son couldn't get enough. I think the meat filling needed a bit more flavor but the tomato Creole sauce is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was very tatsy! Perfect recipe! Just the right amount of sauce and very flavorfull!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Very time-consuming, but very good. I agree with making more sauce; I had just enough to cover five small peppers, but had another plate of the filling! Will work on portions, but excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. Followed to the letter, it is delicious. Once you make it a few times and tweak it to your family's taste, it is AMAZING. Thank you, Bobbie Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maraboulous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States