Stuffed Peppers Italian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I made this recipe for my wife and a couple of our close friends. The recipe is a good one. There are some nice, not too overpowering flavors in this dish. I served it the peppers on a bed of spaghetti squash. Changes I recommend...add italian sausage, add some table white wine (dry is best) when cooking the onions and garlic, add a tablespoon of oregano, and once the peppers are done, cover them with shaved parmesan (from a block of cheese, not that pregrated stuff). Sprinkle chopped parsley as a garnish over the top of the peppers. Oh, and one last thing...slice the peppers lengthwise and make pepper boats. You can fit a lot into the pepper and it's more stable when sitting on a plate. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is a good recipe, but no one in our family likes anchovies! I came across this recipe because we all miss my MIL's stuffed peppers now that she's gone and this was the closest to it I could find. I added some pepperoni and soppresata (dry sausage), which my mother in law taught me to "boil in a little water to get out some of the fat" and then chop into a super small dice. That way, there's some in every bite. I made it once without the "boil" and found that the pepperoni was like little hard nuggests - we prefer that it be boiled a little first - its softer in the finished pepper We get the "salt" flavor from this rather than the anchovies. Also, she always added some freshly grated Parmesan or Romano cheese to the mixture and regular black olives, chopped up, and ALWAYS used the day old Italian bread rather than boxed bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This was a big hit in my home. I did add cooked lean ground beef and shredded parmesan cheese to the mixture. I also cut the amount of breadcrumbs in half. Absolutely delicious, I served with a green salad and will definitley make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was fanastic! I was looking for a stuffed banana pepper recipe and came across this one. I substituted 12 banana peppers for the green peppers and added a can of crushed tomatoes and 1/2 cup of parmesean cheese to the stuffing. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I agree... if you add Italian sausage, Parmesan cheese, and spaghetti sauce (homemade or canned) it really adds some flavor! I used rosemary bread that was fresh, and was still satisfied with the outcome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. I used chopped calamata olives that been marinated in EVOO and spices, in place of the green olives. Next time I think I'll mix in a few raisins and maybe a little lemon zest. I think the contrast of sweet raisins with salty anchovies and tart lemon would be great. Oh, I also cut the peppers in half length-wise as another reviewer suggested. What a great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I eliminated the green olives and used sicilian black olives (shriveled ones) and did not use onion. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was a very nice recipe for stuffed peppers. I did however make changes based on preference. I used the sausage, oregano and basil as others recommended. The other big difference in my recipe is that I decided to use cooked white rice instead of the bread. I know the bread would be more Italian, but we love rice in our household! The rest of the recipe stayed the same and it turned out delicious! One hint for making stuffed peppers that I use to shorten the cooking time, is to take the tops off the peppers and then parboil them for 10 minutes or so. This speeds up the baking time and you can boil the peppers while preparing the stuffing. My cooking time in the oven was about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was a ok at best. It took forever to cook and the end result was not as good as I had expected it would be. I mean it tasted good, but not as good as I would have thought it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great with changes in my notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States