Stuffed Pepper Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Awesome Awesome Awesome!! This is the best soup ever! Well I did do some things different though. I added 2 onions 1 clove of garlic 4 green peppers. 1/2 cup ketchup 2 tbsp. worchestershire 1 cup water I reduced to 1 cup of rice Also, instead of a can of chopped tomatoes I picked 6 fresh from the garded blanched them and scrunched them into the mixture. I know these seem like alot of changes but they are all pretty small after all. I only changed it to reflect the way I actually make stuffed peppers. Again, this stuff is really awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I love this, although it was dry, so I "souped" it up a bit :) I'll stick with my version so that it isn't to salty or dry...to this recipe cut the brown sugar to 2 TBSP, cut the sauce to 8 oz, add 2 (10-3/4) cans of tomato soup, sub the soy sauce with 2 TBSP. of Worcestershire sauce, add 2 cups of water, an onion & some garlic(1-2 cloves)...YUM!! Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
A terrific variation on this soup is to use 1 lb of italian sausage instead of ground beef and 3-4 bell peppers (red, yellow, or orange if possible). It becomes more like a soup if you add 2 c. water with the boullion cubes. Also, a way to make the soup even simpler to make is to add one cup of uncooked rice along with the other ingredients in step 3. That way it can just cook up with everything else during the simmer. This works great for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I have made this recipe twice. The first time as written and we weren't too impressed with the soup. I would give the original recipe 3 stars. It was way too sweet for our taste. I then came back and read all the reviews and made changes and would give it 5 stars with the changes. I added another pepper, used can beef broth, used a combination of crushed tomatoes, diced tomatoes and tomate sauce (my kids don't like too many chunky tomatoes in anything). I also eliminated the sugar, used worcestshire sauce instead of soy, halfed the pepper and added italian seasoning and garlic powder. This was awesome and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Thanks for the great recipe! We tried stuffed pepper soup just the other day for the first time and knew I had to come to allrecipes.com to find a recipe. I made a few changes to make it soupier. Also, when I make stuffed peppers I use Italian herbs. Hense: Changes to recipe: *2 green bell peppers (instead of one) *2 (14 oz) cans beef broth (instead of bullion cube) *One onion, chopped and added at same time as green peppers *1 Tbs. worchestershire sause (instead of soy sauce) *2 cups cooked BROWN rice (instead of white rice) Add the following 20 minutes before finished simmering: *1 Tbs Italian seasoning *1 tsp garlic powder *1/2 tsp garlic salt *1/2 Tbs parsley flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This recipe is totally awesome!!! I used two peppers, 2 cans of beef broth and used worcestershire sauce instead of soy sauce. I also added water to decrease thickness. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I thought that this was a great soup. I made the following changes. I used ground turkey (a little over a pound) added an onion chopped while the meat was cooking along with 3 cloves of garlic minced. I used 2 very large peppers, One green and one half red and half green. ( I was surprised the recipe only called for 1). I used beef broth in place of cubes and I cut back on the brown sugar. I also added a can of tomato soup and 3 bay leaves. The Bay is something that MY mother and grandmother always used in stuffed peppers. That made the soup. As is 4 stars but with changes way over 5. Thanks for the good soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
If you don't like really thick soups, this may not be the soup for you, otherwise you may have to make some modifications per other reviewers. Although the soup is thick, my family and I loved it! I added some onion to the meat while browning, added some more green peppers and when the soup was done, I sprinkled a cup of cheese over all. It is a touch on the salty side so I may reduce either the salt and soy sauce or omit one ingrediant altogther. I can't wait to make this during the dead cold of winter!! Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
We LOVED this soup!! Next time I make it I will cut the black pepper in half and add a little more green peppers. Other than that, it was perfect. I made the onion, cheese, and garlic bread (recipe found on this site also) to go with the soup. It made a great meal on a cold rainy day :) Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
The secret to this soup is add at least 4 peppers, one julienned onion, 4 minced garlic cloves, broth & one TBSP of rice wine vinegar. Additionally, don't cook the rice in the soup as it "gums" up the works". Cook on the side and serve over a scoop of rice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States