Stuffed Pepper Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very good - I took it to work and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Very tasty soup! Mine turned out rather thick so I added about 2 cups of water to make it more soup-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I used this as the basis for a great soup the whole family loved. I incorporated many readers ideas, and was thrilled with the results. I used 2 lbs grass fed beef and browned it with 2 large onions and 4 cloves of garlic, then added 5 peppers (green, yellow, red), tomato sauce and diced tomatoes as it called for, 1 cup of water, 5 cups of beef broth, no added sugar/salt/pepper, 1 Tblsp worcestershire sauce, and 1 1/2 cups of uncooked brown rice. Took a little over an hour for the rice to be cooked, and it was heavenly. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was allright. To my surprise, my hubs liked this quite a bit (he can be picky at times...). I wasn't a fan for two reasons - this was a tad bland for my liking and WAAY too thick to be considered soup. I even added water. After looking at my stockpot, I knew there was no way this would resemble soup without it.... I suggest adding 1 c. water per boullion cube and DOUBLING the liquid when making a full batch of this. Since I halved everything, I added 2 c. of water / 2 bullion cubes. I also added the full T of W sauce (subbed for soy), sugar and seasonings called for (FYI, I used seasoned salt in lieu of plain table salt). My only other changes were using an entire green bell pepper (didn't see the point in wasting half of one), adding a small, chopped onion and using Italian-seasoned tomatoes / garlic & onion flavored tomato sauce (the latter two to add a flavor boost). I also added my rice in step #3, brought my pot to a boil and then simmered for a half hour. Serving steaming bowlfuls with garlic bread, this was a warming meal on this dreary September day. Thanks for sharing, Holly! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is a great soup that my husband and I have made many times- in fact he is making it as we speak. If you have trouble with it being a little too thick, you can add the rice later- esp. if you are freezing it- the more rice the thicker, so adjust accordingly. We all love it. We also add tomato juice or V-8 juice instead of tomato sauce. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy T
Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I pretty much followed the recipe, except for the diced tomatoes, and this turned out SO YUMMY!! I made it in a big stainless pot cuz I don't have a Dutch oven, and I added the instant rice uncooked after all the other ingredients and letting it "settle" for about 1/2 an hour. Husband was surprised it tasted a little sweet, but he had only good things to say about this, so thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 37cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I made this soup for a church Sunday Soup day and everybody just loved it. It was easy to make and the taste was excellent! It will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Basinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Living In: Depew, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Loved this! I've made this two times so far. Yes it's sweet, but I like it that way! The 2nd time I made this, I used tiny pasta (Pastini) and cooked it right in the pot with the soup. I guess you could also use Orzo pasta as well. I can never get rice right and was afraid of it soaking up too much liquid and getting mushy. Loving the pastini! Also on the 2nd try, I didn't have any tomato sauce so I used a jar of Ragu traditional spaghetti sauce. I swear it tasted even better!!! (Probably the added spices)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Just like stuffed peppers, but soup. I used Worcestershire sauce instead of soy sauce, other than that I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookgirl1972

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
the flavor was good but it nedded tweaking. added tomato soup and a bay leaf and that really helped alot!!! Also added green beans so that there would be some veggies besides bell pepper! With changes i will make again! Served with a grilled cheese sandwich for my little girl, and my "great garlic bread" (it's posted on this site) for dipping. great dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States