Stuffed Mushrooms with Swiss Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I've made these several times, and they are always a big hit. I modify the recipe as follows: *For the onion I substitute green onions with tops. *I've substituted portobello mushrooms. (With so little stem, I chop up and add some white or crimini mushrooms and add to the saute.) *I add a tablespoon or so of bread crumbs when I add the flour. *I don't add parsley (because of the green onion tops.) *I substitute gorgonzola for the swiss cheese!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
My husband said they were better than the ones they make in the restaurant! 12 were not enough! I used portabella mushroom, because they have the most flavor. I didn't have parsley, so I didn't add it and it still came out very nice. I also took the advice from the other reviews and added 1 tbls bread crumbs and lots of garlic with the onion mixture. Next time I am going to experiment with adding parmesan cheese to the onion mixture. Thank you so much, this one is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This was a wonderful recipe!! I love it because you can customize (by adding more or less onion, breadcrumbs, or even lots of garlic). I even added crab meat too and it was delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I made this recipe just as it was written(I always do that the first time). I think the stuffing could be thicker- someone had said some bread crumbs maybe a good idea. But other than that it tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I just loved this! Used shallots instead of onions, and we didn't have swiss cheese so I put slices of Brie on top to melt over the mushrooms. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
I agree with the other reviewers that there is just TOO much butter! Also, the mixture was little runny, so bread crumbs would've helped. Also garlic would've pepped this up a bit. The flavor was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I used about a third of the butter called for and probably could have used less. They turned out tasty, but nothing special. If I made this again I would definitely add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
My guests liked the taste but I thought they were much too greasy...too much butter!...Would not make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
all i can say is mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrisa
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was one of the best appetizers I have ever tasted! We made these as a small compliment to our meal and they became somewhat of a main course! They were more than delicious and everyone had three or four of them. What was best was these had no seafood in them, So my mother, (who is allergic to seafood) could have these. The swiss cheese was a perfect garnishment and I will for sure be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States