Stuffed Mushrooms IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Outstanding-more than a few gourmets at a recent party advised these were the best sausage mushrooms ever! I used Bob Evans sage bulk sausage,italian seasoned bread crumbs,minced red pepper, and a good dash of Emeril's essence as well as the standard recipe items. I also topped them with gruyere cheese and parmesan before baking. FYI I made this 4 hours in advance,melted butter in a casserole placed them in the casserole and refrigerated until ready to bake and serve. Sooo easy and so many wows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
My husbands family get togethers are always an aggrevation for me. I never know what to take and then usually end up taking home more than half of what I brought (after it has set out all day) and throwing it away. I took these and everyone raved! I substituted sausage, used seasoned bread crumbs and put swiss cheese x's across the tops. I also used a mini chopper to grind the sausage finely. This really made the recipe simple, because I did not have to stand over the sausage chopping with a spatula to keep it from clumping into big pieces. 5 giant stars from me and my husbands super picky family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Wow, these were SO good! I made them for an appetizer on Thanksgiving, and my husband and I had to stop eating them! We were afraid we'd have no room for dinner. We really loved them. I did use spicy sausage in place of ground beef, and I think I used italian flavored bread crumbs because it's all I had, but they were fabulous. I also prepared them the night before and refrigerated, and then heated up in the toaster oven (turkey was in the big oven!) and they were wonderful. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Oh my, just fabulous! I doubled the recipe and used sausage instead of beef. Next time I will omit the butter in the mixture, as it was somewhat greasy. There was a lot of the mixture left over after stuffing so a couple of nephews used that to spread on crackers. It makes a wonderful spread, so from now on I may just bake the filling in a casserole dish and serve as a dip. 5 stars plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These were AWESOME! I kinda winged the recipe a little as I added more garlic and some celery to it. Also, I completely FORGOT to add the cream to it - this was my first time making stuffed mushrooms, so I called a friend in panic (this is after I had them ready to go in the oven) - she suggested a little bit of zinfandel on each one...I used a turkey baster to add the wine and they were AMAZING! Definitely the fastest appetizer gone from the Thanksgiving spread! Will definitely be making these again. Also, I didn't have any chili powder so I just left it out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Very good, even without the ground beef. For the vegetarian version, use olive oil to saute the onions and garlic. Be sure to make extra filling since the meat in the recipe is much of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I used Johnsonville Irish Sausage (it's what I had on hand)... the kind with "a wee bit o garlic"... I made about thirty of these and they were devoured in short order by a party of 6. I also used the regular white mushrooms, so the sizes of these varied greatly. Next time I may go lighter on the butter and sub Olive oil. The "serving yield" of 12 mushrooms = 12 Servings must be some kind of a sick joke unless the recipe uses some Huge mushrooms, which it does not specify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
These are wonderful. Followed directions exactly except I use evaporated milk instead of cream because it is what I usually have on hand. The family gobbled these up and have asked me to make them several times. Thanks Jennifer for the yummy good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Excellent, delicious! A major, major hit with my husband and son! I doubled the sausage, onion, and garlic, but kept the bread crumbs, cream, and butter at the same amounts (this produced a flavorful, more meaty mix). I also took the advise of another reviewer, and topped them off with shredded Gruyere cheese. I had enough to stuff 24 mushrooms -- all of which were devoured within seconds on Thanksgiving day! I found they heated up well in a toaster oven... in a significantly quicker time. A nice solution when the oven is otherwise occupied by a gigantic turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I've made this a few times. My daughter has requested them. I like the fact of the hamburger mixture taste like strognaff. It's really simple and easy and I shake a few extra dashes of chili powder on them. As is...very nice, just needs a little more spice for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States