Stuffed Mushrooms III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I thought these were REALLY good (hard to go wrong with pesto and cheese), except that there's too much filling unless you have particularly gigantic mushroom caps to fill. Next time I'm halving the cheeses, and I think that will be quite sufficient. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta because it's what I had, and it worked quite well and tasted great (though next time I might blend it first to smooth out the curds). I didn't pre-cook my mushrooms the way others have suggested, so I did end up with brown juice in my pan, but it didn't bother me in the slightest. In fact, it was quite tasty to slurp up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I brought this to a large function as a dish and it was a HUGE hit! I used 8 oz cream cheese instead of ricotta, with provolone and mozzarella cheeses. Added some cayenne pepper which gave it a great zing! Will definitely be making theses again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by columbia gorge girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Swapped the cheese because we don't like ricotta but it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Really tasty and simple side that goes with a lot of things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by souprgirl1
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
We had significantly more choose filling than we did mushrooms. We used what we thought were large mushrooms, but apparently, we were wrong. We ended up with mushrooms drowned in cheese mixture, instead of simply stuffed mushrooms. On the plus side, the overflowed cheese mixture makes for a good dip afterwards! (Contributions by JL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I loved stuffed mushrooms but this was my first time making them myself. They turned out great! and this recipe could easily be tweaked to everyone's liking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tssunshine24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These are tasty, but not as good as I was hoping. Maybe more pesto would do it? I made 1/4 the amount of stuffing and had enough for 8 large button mushrooms, so don't make the whole stuffing amount unless you are feeding an army or plan on using the leftover for lasagne or something. Also, don't overstuff like I did - this stuffing is super oozy and you'll lose any extra down the sides (see picture, oops!). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
11/27/08 Thanksgiving. FAIR! The pesto is a really good flavor, but ricotta is kinda blah. I pre-cooked the mushrooms a little to cut down on liquid in the pan. Maybe try with cream cheese and a strip of bacon wrapped around it?! Needs pizazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Just what I wanted. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made it, delicious!!!! i didnt use olive oil or cook the mushrooms at all, just put the stuffing in them and put them in the oven. the recipe is awesome, just tweak it to what you think is right. i threw in an egg, and it worked like a charm. about 4 out of 12 were a little soggy, but that was my mistake by over stuffing and letting them sit in the juices while they baked. OVERALL 5-stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States