Stuffed Leg of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SC949
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
WONDERFUL!! Made this for Easter to RAVES! I'd recommend it 100%. People asked to take leftovers home and called me to say there were having it for lunch. We made the recipe "as is" and added cornstarch and wine to the lamb dripping to make a sauce. The lamb was perfect as is.. but the sauce just punched up the flavor. I will make it again! Served with rustic mixed potatoes and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Delicious!! My 2 year old devoured this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This was great, but I too had to solve that pesky stuffing problem. So I took a piece of parchment paper and folded an equal length of foil around the outside of it. I laid the roast in the pan with the stuffing cut to one side, fat cap up. Then I oiled the parchment and with the help of the foil--parchment side pressed firmly against the stuffing and meat--molded a shield around the entire exposed cut, which kept the stuffing in pretty effectively without interfering with the roasting process. Viola! No leaky stuffing and a lovely, browned roast. I also cut down the size of this recipe considerably. Usually, I buy a full, $70 leg of lamb. I cut up some for stew or tajines, cut big chunks for kabobs, and leave the meat under the fat cap for a stuffed, butterflied roast like this one. That leaves me a nice bone to roast for broth and a decent amount of scrap meat for stuffed grape leaves. The only thing that gets thrown out unused is some silver skin. That overpriced leg of lamb becomes a much more economical cut. For this cut-down roast, you can use a 4 oz roll of goat cheese and just eyeball the rest. It should serve 4-6 people generously. I also roast it on top of halved baby new potatoes tossed with olive oil. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Outstanding with some tweaking. To up the flavor I lightly wilted the baby spinach in some olive oil which had been heated with crushed garlic. I also toasted the pine nuts before putting them on. I used creole seasoning instead of the other seasoning around the roast but next time I might omit the flour crust entirely as it really didn't enhance the dish. Everyone enjoyed the flavors and no one said it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by markarrington
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I thought this was really good. I read the reviews about perhaps needing more flavor so I added some of the herbs directly to the meat and filling as well as the stuffing. Don't leave the crusty burnt stuff on the bottom of the pan - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I cooked this last night and it turned out beautiful and tasted great. Got wonderful compliments. I softened the goat cheese and stirred in some fresh rosemary, thyme, parslel, and a couple minced garlic cloves before spreading it onto the spinach. Also used Lawry's Seasoned Pepper in the flour mixture and put more on the surface before baking. I think this gave it more of the flavor that some reviewers were missing. All in all, a wonderful recipe and I'm so glad I found it!!! (Most of us "tweak" everything a bit......doesn't mean the original wouldn't have been great, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I fixed this on Saturday. The only thing I added was garlic powder with parsley. Without a doubt this was the most beautiful roast I have ever made and the lamb is the best I have ever tasted. It's a keeper, indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipe provides some very good guidance, but falls short in the flavor department (bland). I corrected this by using Penzey's lamb seasoning in addition to the salt and pepper. Loved the spinach & goat cheese filling (I used a peppered goat cheese log from Harley Farms), but I need practice with the whole pounding/rolling process. I think the flour could also be omitted--it made a weird, hard crust that seems unnecessary. Thanks for a great idea to get me started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Would've given it a 5 if I didn't find it a bit bland too, so instead of fennel I used my old "cure all" Montreal Steak Spice, on the outside. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAALLOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tuen Mun, New Territories, Hong Kong

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Chef John’s Roasted Leg of Lamb

See how to make roasted leg of lamb with an herb, garlic, and pomegranate rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States