Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was really good! It was a hit in my pre-Xmas gathering. I sub'd cherries for the currants and used cherry liqueur. I couldn't bring myself to use the basil, it just didn't sound right (too many flavors) so I used more mint instead. I used a cooking method I'd read about for lamb--450 deg from 20 mins, 325 for the rest of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Like the other reviewers I used regular figs and cranberries. Currents are really hard to find. I also made a simple syrup using the cranberries to substitute the creme de cassis liqueur. It point blank is the best single item that I have ever eaten. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
What a knockout! Followed the recipe, easy, and fabulous. guests loved it! I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this for my family Easter Sunday and it was a huge hit. I couldn't find currants so I added some dried cranberries. I also couldn't find the particular fig type called for in the recipe so I used "regular" figs. It turned out wonderfully! I cooked the lamb at 325 (instead of 400 directed in the recipe) and it was done (medium rare) in 2 hours. Stuffing, rolling and tying the lamb was a bit awkward but it sure did taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
OMG!! This was absolutely fantastic! The sauce was incredibly easy and will be made again to use on other meats, like pork. The lamb itself ended up well-done. I should have monitored meat thermometer closer, but we enjoyed it tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatka, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
this is an amazing recepie. i made it for the new year's dinner- everyone loved it! peopled talked about it months later. i will make it a highlight of every new year dinner from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
The wonderful combination of figs and balsamic will impress your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This recipe has become a new holiday tradition for our family -- I was drawn to it because it features so many favorite ingredients -- figs & prunes, balsamic vinegar, garlic, fresh mint& basil, and of course leg of lamb -- it makes an elegant presentation and yet very easy to prepare -- my 2 teenage daughters asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I loved the taste of the balsamic and basil melded together in this recipe, along with the fig. This will be a great main dish for my holiday x-mas menu. Vickilynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Cooking with fruit is one of my favorites. I like the combination of sweet fruit and sour ingredients. Fresh spices are always best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States