Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was really good! It was a hit in my pre-Xmas gathering. I sub'd cherries for the currants and used cherry liqueur. I couldn't bring myself to use the basil, it just didn't sound right (too many flavors) so I used more mint instead. I used a cooking method I'd read about for lamb--450 deg from 20 mins, 325 for the rest of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Like the other reviewers I used regular figs and cranberries. Currents are really hard to find. I also made a simple syrup using the cranberries to substitute the creme de cassis liqueur. It point blank is the best single item that I have ever eaten. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
What a knockout! Followed the recipe, easy, and fabulous. guests loved it! I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this for my family Easter Sunday and it was a huge hit. I couldn't find currants so I added some dried cranberries. I also couldn't find the particular fig type called for in the recipe so I used "regular" figs. It turned out wonderfully! I cooked the lamb at 325 (instead of 400 directed in the recipe) and it was done (medium rare) in 2 hours. Stuffing, rolling and tying the lamb was a bit awkward but it sure did taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
OMG!! This was absolutely fantastic! The sauce was incredibly easy and will be made again to use on other meats, like pork. The lamb itself ended up well-done. I should have monitored meat thermometer closer, but we enjoyed it tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatka, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
this is an amazing recepie. i made it for the new year's dinner- everyone loved it! peopled talked about it months later. i will make it a highlight of every new year dinner from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
The wonderful combination of figs and balsamic will impress your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This recipe has become a new holiday tradition for our family -- I was drawn to it because it features so many favorite ingredients -- figs & prunes, balsamic vinegar, garlic, fresh mint& basil, and of course leg of lamb -- it makes an elegant presentation and yet very easy to prepare -- my 2 teenage daughters asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I loved the taste of the balsamic and basil melded together in this recipe, along with the fig. This will be a great main dish for my holiday x-mas menu. Vickilynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Cooking with fruit is one of my favorites. I like the combination of sweet fruit and sour ingredients. Fresh spices are always best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States