Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This dish is utterly amazing. This was the first time I've ever tried roasting a leg of lamb. It was better than any lamb that I have had any where else around the globe! My family was dumb struck. I did double the basil, all the herbs, and added some more garlic cloves. I did use dried mission figs, and added extra water just to compensate. Since I didn't have half an inkling where to get the creme de cassis...So I combined currant jelly with cabarnet sauvignon. IT'S A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I am a lamb lover; it's by far my favorite meat, I made this meal for Xmas dinner and I was expecting perfection since the recipe sounded absolutely divine and I spent so much money on the ingredients. It was good--but not nearly as delicious as I was expecting. First, I would suggest you double or triple the herb/spice rub. Because it was NOT CLOSE TO ENOUGH. I really think that if I had done this, it might have been a five star. Double the liqueur amount. I subbed black cherry liqueur because I didn't want to buy a bottle of cassis I would never drink. Lastly, the cooking time is off for this recipe. Lamb just shouldnt be cooked more than medium rare, which means removal from the oven at 125-130 F on the thermometer. Check your old cookbooks ladies and gentlemen-- the ones printed before our nation became fearful -- medium rare is 130-135F, and meat always rises 5F internally after removal from the oven! That means 8-9 minutes per pound for lamb. My 5 lb roast was done in 40 min--so check it early!! Also, because it's butterflied, the ends of the lamb cook to well while the middle is medium rare, so you can even please the philistines who prfer well-done meat with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
wow, best lamb recipe I have ever had! If you want a restaurant quality lamb recipe, this is it ! made it for an impressive xmas dinner. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This lamb turned out great. My husband made it for Christmas Day and everyone really liked it. We usually have lamb for special dinners and use more garlic. This would be the only suggestion I might try in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAHM of 9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimball, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Wow. you made me a kitchen hero. Made this for an intimate dinner with friends...excellent, I was amazed by the "clean" dishes, they couldn't get enough. The only thing I did differently, trying to save some time, was use Balsamic Cream, I figured I could "heat and eat" rather than wait for the reduction. It was good, but way to "thick" I think. Great recipe. For side dishes I made some green and white aspargus topped with buttered bread crumbs, parmesan cheese and diced roasted red peppers and some couscous that took the Balsamic fig sauce quite nicely. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Carlone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Loved it. So did everyone at my party. The fig sauce was the best part. They were putting it on my prime rib too. My son added more fig than the recipe called for and I put a dab of creme de cassis in it. I will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristene Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
this was good. i don't think for the effort it is worth the taste, but lamb was on sale and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Just wonderful! Our favorite lamb dish yet. I also used dried cranberries instead of currants and sliced almonds instead of salted ones. Prepped with a food processor and it was ready for the oven in just a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Love it! Made it for Easter and was a big hit! Even my picky eater teenage sone love it. He is allergic to nuts so I made a smaller piece for him without the almonds! Takes a long time to prep though! I need a good chopper (lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
If you want to impress, this is the lamb recipe to go for. You need to allow yourself plenty of time to get everything assembled, chopped, diced etc. But once that lamb is roasting in the oven, you will not be sorry you went the extra mile. My family loved this, and my 83 year old father told me it is a meal he will not soon forget. Now that is a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States