Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Where to start with this dish?... My husband picked this one for Christmas dinner and I was a little leary. I can not believe how well all of the flavors work together! It also looked just beautiful when it was cut and served on the platter, it just looked wonderfully festive. This was a simply delicious dish - the lamb was tender, juicy and such an awesome change to the same old lamb, lemon and cilantro deal. If you want to impress guests with a dish that makes you look like a culinary artist THIS is IT! I still can't believe how wonderful all of the fruit was. I did have to trade the currants for cranberries because I couldn't find them but I am so happy I searched all over town for the other fresh ingredients! Thanks for a wonderful lamb dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a great stuffed leg of lamb, but without the sauce. I made approximately double the amount of herbs, as per other recommendations. I also used a dry red wine instead of the creme de cassis liqueur, because that's what I had on hand. I made the sauce with dried rather than fresh figs, and although it is certainly an interesting sauce, we found it completely overpowered the lamb. I'll make the roast again, definitely, but not the sauce. Oh, I also roasted it at 325F until the meat thermometer hit 130F, at which point I took it out to rest under foil. The temperature rose to 140F, and it was quite well done, but still moist and juicy. Definitely a success for my daughter's 19th birthday celebratory dinner .... sans sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Roughly followed the recipe, I'm much more of an add things by taste person than measuring. Basil was the key to the sauce in my opinion! Great recipe, was a hit at a dinner party! Just used sliced figs, mint, and almonds with some seasonings in the middle. Also, absolutely cook at 325 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
It is impossible to beat my roast leg of lamb (bone in) with garlic and rosemary - or so I thought until I tried this one. This came extremely close to making me change my mind. A lot more work to prep of course, but well worth it for a special occasion. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
LOVE this sauce. Great recipe, easy to modify to your own tastes, works with figs the best, dried is just as yummy if you don't have the required fresh and subs are fine. Although the star is the Fig sauce with its sweet bursty seeds. How do I make this sauce into a lollipop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aereish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was pretty good. I had a larger group and made a bigger lamb. I found when I went to slice it, it unraveled and the concept of it disappeared. Most probably due to the larger cut of meat. This ended up being a costly dish. After spending the money for a good lamb, I had to buy prunes, currents, nuts, herbs, cassis and figs. There was alot of prep too with the mincing of the herbs. I am not sure I would make it again, but it was tasty once I tried to combine all of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good with lots of great flavors for the holidays! Family loved it that doesn't usually eat lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was one of the best leg of lamb I have ever cooked! I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Wait

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made some changes to the recipe,substituting what I had on had: replaced the almonds with walnuts, substituted dates for figs, dried herbs for the fresh ones. This recipe is fabulous! I enjoyed the meat without the sauce for a more savory flavor and the sauce added a special sweet-tart addition. A previous poster was correct,cook it to 125-130 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States