Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Last night was the 3rd time I made lamb using this recipe. Each time I make it is just a little different, depending on the ingredients I have on hand. Each time, however, this recipe for lamb is the absolute BEST! I used only prunes (in the stuffing AND sauce) since I didn't have figs. I doubled the herbs recipe as another reviewer suggested & I used Chambord instead of Cassis since that was what I had on hand. I ALWAYS use fresh herbs because there really is a BIG difference between dried & fresh when it comes to taste. Instead of currants, I used craisins. I also cooked it until the temp read 135 degrees, then let it rest while I cooked the veggies. Everyone took seconds & thirds! Even my picky 13 yr. old said it was good (SCORE!!). You really can't mess up this recipe, folks! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Pollyc84
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very exotic recipes~ it's taste good ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pollyc84

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
After all the different grocery stores that I went to in order to find all of the ingredients and all the work I put into deboning a full leg of lamb on my own, I was thinking that this better be delicious. Well it ended up tasting better than I could have ever imaginined, especially since I didnt know what to think based on the odd combo of ingredients. I must add that I couldnt find figs and ended up using a fig preserve/jam instead; didnt have creme de cassis liqueur and just used brandy instead, and I didnt have coriander, I used dill instead. It didnt even matter because the end result was spectacular. I only wish more of my family liked lamb so I could make this the centerpiece of a holiday dinner. Though next time I am going to have the butcher debone and trim the fat for me. I served this with garlic roasted fresh cut string beans and greek style potatoes (from this website). Oh, and in order to keep everything moist I baked this covered, 30 minutes at 400F, 30 minutes at 325F. everything still browned perfectly. Simply magnificant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Great combo of flavors for Leg of Lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Like whoa. I made this for a number of guests on New Years Eve and made quite the ruckus. Thank you for your recipe! I cooked it in a Dutch oven without the lid on the stove top for about 8 minutes to brown it up a tad. I moved it into the oven at 375 F with the lid on until the temperature probe read 145 F-150 F in the center. It came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicahtheFlavorous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Where to start with this dish?... My husband picked this one for Christmas dinner and I was a little leary. I can not believe how well all of the flavors work together! It also looked just beautiful when it was cut and served on the platter, it just looked wonderfully festive. This was a simply delicious dish - the lamb was tender, juicy and such an awesome change to the same old lamb, lemon and cilantro deal. If you want to impress guests with a dish that makes you look like a culinary artist THIS is IT! I still can't believe how wonderful all of the fruit was. I did have to trade the currants for cranberries because I couldn't find them but I am so happy I searched all over town for the other fresh ingredients! Thanks for a wonderful lamb dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a great stuffed leg of lamb, but without the sauce. I made approximately double the amount of herbs, as per other recommendations. I also used a dry red wine instead of the creme de cassis liqueur, because that's what I had on hand. I made the sauce with dried rather than fresh figs, and although it is certainly an interesting sauce, we found it completely overpowered the lamb. I'll make the roast again, definitely, but not the sauce. Oh, I also roasted it at 325F until the meat thermometer hit 130F, at which point I took it out to rest under foil. The temperature rose to 140F, and it was quite well done, but still moist and juicy. Definitely a success for my daughter's 19th birthday celebratory dinner .... sans sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Roughly followed the recipe, I'm much more of an add things by taste person than measuring. Basil was the key to the sauce in my opinion! Great recipe, was a hit at a dinner party! Just used sliced figs, mint, and almonds with some seasonings in the middle. Also, absolutely cook at 325 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States