Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I simplified this recipe and substituted a couple of things I didn't have, but the whole thing turned out beautifully. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Yes yes and yes. Great taste. This will be repeated for some friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
We made this for Easter and it was terrific. Fresh figs were not worth paying 79 cents each so I substituted dried ones. I also used dried apricots instead of prunes. I wouldn't have paired mint and basil, but it works with lamb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this yesterday for Easter and all of my guests loved it! (Even those that don't typically like lamb)... I followed the recipe as written with the exception of the creme de cassis (I completely forgot to pick it up so I just used some red wine which was all I had on hand). For the figs I was not able to find Calimyrna, so I used dried mission figs. I made double the sauce and poured it over the sliced lamb on a serving platter, it presented beautifully. My sister loved the balsamic reduction so much she literally wanted a glass to drink it with! Do use fresh herbs as it makes a tremendous difference in the flavor. An exceptional dish that will become my go-to recipe for lamb for sure! Thanks Barbara E for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Last night was the 3rd time I made lamb using this recipe. Each time I make it is just a little different, depending on the ingredients I have on hand. Each time, however, this recipe for lamb is the absolute BEST! I used only prunes (in the stuffing AND sauce) since I didn't have figs. I doubled the herbs recipe as another reviewer suggested & I used Chambord instead of Cassis since that was what I had on hand. I ALWAYS use fresh herbs because there really is a BIG difference between dried & fresh when it comes to taste. Instead of currants, I used craisins. I also cooked it until the temp read 135 degrees, then let it rest while I cooked the veggies. Everyone took seconds & thirds! Even my picky 13 yr. old said it was good (SCORE!!). You really can't mess up this recipe, folks! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Pollyc84
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very exotic recipes~ it's taste good ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pollyc84

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
After all the different grocery stores that I went to in order to find all of the ingredients and all the work I put into deboning a full leg of lamb on my own, I was thinking that this better be delicious. Well it ended up tasting better than I could have ever imaginined, especially since I didnt know what to think based on the odd combo of ingredients. I must add that I couldnt find figs and ended up using a fig preserve/jam instead; didnt have creme de cassis liqueur and just used brandy instead, and I didnt have coriander, I used dill instead. It didnt even matter because the end result was spectacular. I only wish more of my family liked lamb so I could make this the centerpiece of a holiday dinner. Though next time I am going to have the butcher debone and trim the fat for me. I served this with garlic roasted fresh cut string beans and greek style potatoes (from this website). Oh, and in order to keep everything moist I baked this covered, 30 minutes at 400F, 30 minutes at 325F. everything still browned perfectly. Simply magnificant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Great combo of flavors for Leg of Lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Like whoa. I made this for a number of guests on New Years Eve and made quite the ruckus. Thank you for your recipe! I cooked it in a Dutch oven without the lid on the stove top for about 8 minutes to brown it up a tad. I moved it into the oven at 375 F with the lid on until the temperature probe read 145 F-150 F in the center. It came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicahtheFlavorous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States