Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Our family loved this elegant dish for our Easter feast. The only substitution I made was using raspberry liquor instead of Creme de Cassis. I would have used the later but was unable to find it in a small container. This recipe was a little more exotic than we are used to so I was a little nervous about it. The result was outstanding though! Loved the complex flavors in the stuffing and savory sweetness of the balsamic fig basil sauce. Our guests called it "elegant" and my wife is hoping I do it again next year for Easter, if not sooner! Definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have prepared this lamb recipe for the last 4 years and my family absolutely loves it... delicious! The first time I made it though, I mixed all the stuffing ingredients together (by mistake) and I have to say, I think I liked it better. I do recall not having any fresh garlic and using garlic powder in the rub which was fantastic, too. *The fig basil sauce definitely makes the dish sing!!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I've made this lamb 3 times for a special dinner and I'll be making it for this Easter. Did not use the almonds or the coriander but love the fresh mint, rosemary, thyme and basil. I purchased a boneless leg from Costco and after filling managed to squeeze it back into the original netting. The balsamic fig sauce is the bomb and I could eat that with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Jung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this for my husband and son as I don't eat lamb. I followed other reviewers suggestion and doubled the spice mixture. Definitely a necessity. I also substituted dried cranberries for the currants. When all was said and done, they enjoyed the lamb, but felt the amount of work did not match the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Wonderful and titillating array of tastes! Highly praised by everyone at the dinner party! Will do it again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fede

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Delicious sauce! Instead of using figs and balsamic, I used fig flavored balsamic from whole foods. Also made this with pork instead of lamb. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My extended family DEMAND this recipe for Christmas dinner, since I first made it in 2010. 2010. I've successfully substituted dried cranberries for currants, and dates for the prunes (very tasty). We had no fresh mint, once, and my dried mint just didn't make the grade. Even my wife, who detests lamb, loves this recipe. Get mere stuffing, if the lamb flavor is too strong for your taste; otherwise serve yourself less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Love the sauce. Lamb was a bit undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Ok, it's true. Even if you hate lamb, you'll like or love this recipe. It's labor intensive but absolutely worth the effort. The only mistake I made was not reducing the balsamic vinegar enough before adding the other ingredients. I thought I had ruined dinner. The sauce tasted and smelled waaaay to vinegary. But I added some brown sugar and just kept stirring over medium heat until dissolved and reduced a bit more. Success! The lamb haters went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States