Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this yesterday for Easter dinner,and it was outstanding.Everyone raved about it.It was well worth the effort.I thought there may be a little too much going on with the fruit nut and herb combinations but the flavors were really great together.The balsamic fig basil sauce would also be very nice served with grilled lamb chops.I know some of you had mentioned you had a hard time finding the figs or the currants.If you are fortunate enought to live near a Trader Joe's Market I was able to find everything I needed for this recipe there with the exception of the liquor.I would definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I did a lot of things different, like wrapped prosciutto around the outside after smearing it with an herbal/ mushroom/garlic/beef demi-glace mash. Stuffed the inside w/ homemade breadcrumb stuffing w/ dried cherries. Served it all for easter cooked med-rare. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Delicious and absolutely holiday meal-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Wonderful flavors. Not as big a production as you might think. Don't be put off by the unusual spice combinations - they really are good, especially the basil in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I have died and gone to heaven. This recipe is wonderful. The spices and herbs counter the sweet fruits quite well. I used finely chopped walnuts and cranberries for the stuffing in place of currants and almonds, and left out the mint (out of personal preference.) Changed nothing on the fig sauce! Delightful and a masterpiece. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The directions for making this could be somewhat simplified, but it turned out extremely well. I got rave reviews from my guests and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was really good! It was a hit in my pre-Xmas gathering. I sub'd cherries for the currants and used cherry liqueur. I couldn't bring myself to use the basil, it just didn't sound right (too many flavors) so I used more mint instead. I used a cooking method I'd read about for lamb--450 deg from 20 mins, 325 for the rest of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Like the other reviewers I used regular figs and cranberries. Currents are really hard to find. I also made a simple syrup using the cranberries to substitute the creme de cassis liqueur. It point blank is the best single item that I have ever eaten. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
What a knockout! Followed the recipe, easy, and fabulous. guests loved it! I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this for my family Easter Sunday and it was a huge hit. I couldn't find currants so I added some dried cranberries. I also couldn't find the particular fig type called for in the recipe so I used "regular" figs. It turned out wonderfully! I cooked the lamb at 325 (instead of 400 directed in the recipe) and it was done (medium rare) in 2 hours. Stuffing, rolling and tying the lamb was a bit awkward but it sure did taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States