Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Delicious and absolutely holiday meal-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Wonderful flavors. Not as big a production as you might think. Don't be put off by the unusual spice combinations - they really are good, especially the basil in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I have died and gone to heaven. This recipe is wonderful. The spices and herbs counter the sweet fruits quite well. I used finely chopped walnuts and cranberries for the stuffing in place of currants and almonds, and left out the mint (out of personal preference.) Changed nothing on the fig sauce! Delightful and a masterpiece. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The directions for making this could be somewhat simplified, but it turned out extremely well. I got rave reviews from my guests and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was really good! It was a hit in my pre-Xmas gathering. I sub'd cherries for the currants and used cherry liqueur. I couldn't bring myself to use the basil, it just didn't sound right (too many flavors) so I used more mint instead. I used a cooking method I'd read about for lamb--450 deg from 20 mins, 325 for the rest of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Like the other reviewers I used regular figs and cranberries. Currents are really hard to find. I also made a simple syrup using the cranberries to substitute the creme de cassis liqueur. It point blank is the best single item that I have ever eaten. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
What a knockout! Followed the recipe, easy, and fabulous. guests loved it! I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this for my family Easter Sunday and it was a huge hit. I couldn't find currants so I added some dried cranberries. I also couldn't find the particular fig type called for in the recipe so I used "regular" figs. It turned out wonderfully! I cooked the lamb at 325 (instead of 400 directed in the recipe) and it was done (medium rare) in 2 hours. Stuffing, rolling and tying the lamb was a bit awkward but it sure did taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
OMG!! This was absolutely fantastic! The sauce was incredibly easy and will be made again to use on other meats, like pork. The lamb itself ended up well-done. I should have monitored meat thermometer closer, but we enjoyed it tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatka, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
this is an amazing recepie. i made it for the new year's dinner- everyone loved it! peopled talked about it months later. i will make it a highlight of every new year dinner from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States