Stuffed Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I've made this twice now. The first time I was unhappy with the sauerkraut. It was too crispy for my liking. So the second time while I had my kielbasa boiling I threw my kraut in a pan with some onion soup mix and boiled it down some as well to make it more tender to the bite. I didn't try it at all with the mozerella, my taste buds instantly told me sharp cheddar and it was fantastic! I enjoy this recipe because my 7 year old refuses to even try sauerkraut, and I can pick and choose which keilbasa gets kraut on them. My 7 tear old gets just taters and cheese on his. I also found it to be better with a little salt and black pepper sprinkled on top ... but that's just my own preference. Super easy to make, a winner all the way with the ability to leave off things not liked for the picky eaters. The onion soup mix in the kraut while the kielbasa's boiling though did make a huge difference and gave it even more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
O.K. this is the story. I cleaned out our two freezers today and found a link of kielbasa and the tilapia that we had recently purchased. I decided to make both. I figured that the girls and I would eat most of the fish and Drew boy would eat his meat, being that he's a big carnivor. Well, not only did the girls eat the fish, but they both DEVOURED the kielbasa too! I was shocked because even though my kids are not picky and would probably eat kitty litter if I gave it to them, (kidding) they are not sauerkraut lovers. Kids and Drew all asked to keep this in mind for future dinners as it reminded them of our yearly Oktoberfest dinners at our German club. Thanks Theresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Good grief, talk about comfort food. If you're a kraut/kielbasa fan, you've got to try this one. Used homemade mashed potatos and added a little garlic powder. Also used a cheddar/mozzarella blend. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
I took the concept of this dish and changed it because of what I had on had in the frige. During the week I made "Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage" - on this site. Made it for the first time and we loved it - had that and mashed potatoes left over. Also had half of a kielbasa in the freezer. Boiled the kielbasa, and then stuffed it with the cabbage and mashed potatoes and baked it. Served it with mustard on the side. It is a keeper - I now know what to do with the cabbage leftovers. I can imagine that it tastes great your way too. Thanks Theresa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
WE love this! The only thing I change is the flavor of the sauerkraut. My DH will not eat regular kraut so I add about 3 tablspns(or to taste) of brown sugar to sweeten it up, then he will eat it and I like it that way, too. It makes the mashed potatoes taste waaaay better! Put the sugar, sauerkraut and some water (to keep it from burning) in a pan and simmer it forever. The more you cook it the better it gets! My German MIL taught me that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe idea! I did change it up a bit to suit my family's taste and incorporate what I had on hand. I used a low-fat keilbasa so I skipped the boiling, and instead of sauerkraut (which I love, husband hates) I used grilled onions, made homemade mashed potatoes (I use butter & sour cream - no milk) and topped with swiss cheese. Even my 2 year old asked for seconds! This will definitely be added to our family faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
These were good. I made them almost exactly as stated. I didn't have instant potatoes so I made fresh roasted garlic mashers. Next time I make this I will cook the kraut first with some onion and maybe a little apple. I prefer mine not so crunchy. Growing up we often had Kielbasa, kraut and mashed potatoes. Having the same things a different way was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I read all the reviews before hand and this sounded like a winner. But I don't see what all the fuss is about. My husband and I thought it was bland. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Pretty good! My hubs and I enjoyed this but both agree that the "toppings" would be better served as side dishes (our preference, I guess). I am always on the lookout for easy recipes to prepare on hectic weekdays. Not only was this SUPER quick to assemble, it was also satisfying and made with things my hubby and I BOTH enjoy (a HUGE feat!)!!! I must admit, I did make a few changes, mostly in the name of saving even MORE time in the kitchen. I ended up using turkey kielbasa (thus eliminating the boiling step - it's much leaner), subbing refrigerated mashed potatoes for boxed instant ones and canned Bavarian kraut for plain sauerkraut and, instead of mozzarella on top (it didn't seem to go), I added a generous sprinkling of cheddar blend cheese (i.e sharp / mild and white cheddar cheeses) to each "sausage." I would like to have used Swiss but my grocer was out of it. Served open-faced on pretzel hot dog buns with a side of three-bean salad and German beer, this was a nice meal. Thanks for sharing your idea Theresa! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was just okay. My kids wouldn't eat it. They picked everything off and just ate the kielbasa. I tried it with both the mozarella cheese and the cheddar cheese. I liked the cheddar better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States