Stuffed Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I have made this many, many nights with some slight preference changes. I don't like sauerkraut or instant potatoes. The sauerkraut was eliminated completely. I made mashed sweet potatoes instead. I used a shredded Colby Jack, since that was the shredded cheese I had on hand. One time between grocery store visits, I even used just some sliced Munster cheese, since that's what I had. It's great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I have made and eaten kielbasa (or hot dogs) w/ sauerkraut and mashed potatoes on the side for my entire life, but never thought to make it this way...It was AWESOME and DELICIOUS! I used a package of kielbasa links, which I did not boil first, and cheddar cheese instead of the mozzarella. I also opted to use a small cookie scoop to put the potatoes on top, and that worked out great. I served these with 'Quick and Easy Pierogies' from this site, and everything went together well. We really, REALLY enjoyed this tonight...great comfort food, and something that will be made often in our house~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I gave this 3 stars. While it tastes good. It's nothing special. It's just what I normally would make while making kielbasa. It was good, just nothing special. It would've been faster to just make everything seperately like I normally do than go by the directions here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trhjrh06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is a GREAT way to serve kielbsa, brats, smoked sausage, etc. I had jalapeno kielbasa so ours had a little "zip" to them. I used my small cookie scoop to put the mashed potatoes on the sauerkraut. Tried 3 different kinds on the tops. We really enjoyed the meat, potatoes and kraut served this way. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks Theresa for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Pretty good! My hubs and I enjoyed this but both agree that the "toppings" would be better served as side dishes (our preference, I guess). I am always on the lookout for easy recipes to prepare on hectic weekdays. Not only was this SUPER quick to assemble, it was also satisfying and made with things my hubby and I BOTH enjoy (a HUGE feat!)!!! I must admit, I did make a few changes, mostly in the name of saving even MORE time in the kitchen. I ended up using turkey kielbasa (thus eliminating the boiling step - it's much leaner), subbing refrigerated mashed potatoes for boxed instant ones and canned Bavarian kraut for plain sauerkraut and, instead of mozzarella on top (it didn't seem to go), I added a generous sprinkling of cheddar blend cheese (i.e sharp / mild and white cheddar cheeses) to each "sausage." I would like to have used Swiss but my grocer was out of it. Served open-faced on pretzel hot dog buns with a side of three-bean salad and German beer, this was a nice meal. Thanks for sharing your idea Theresa! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I just made this a few nights ago and my boyfriend enjoyed it. I used homemade mashed potatoes rather than pre-packaged mashed potatoes. I also didn't use sauerkraut, and used cheddar instead of mozzarella. Still turned out nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brook Trout
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
A+ easy and very good! I used a can of sourkraut, placed the kraut in a frying pan with a few tablespoons of white wine and caraway seeds and let it simmer for about 10 mins , till wine absorbed, cut kielbasa topped w.instant potatoes, kraut and plenty of mozz, placed in oven, next time I will just pop in in mic till cheese is melted, no reason to turn on stove! great will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook Trout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Been making this for years with just potatoes and Cheddar cheese BUT this is an awesome twist with the kraut!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBQME2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Nice change up for kielbasa! My 6 year-old son who doesn't like mashed potatoes liked it! I made real mashed potatoes and instead of sauerkraut, I caramelized some onion and topped with that and the mozzarella cheese. To me, the caramelized onion made all the difference in the world--delicious!! I'll be putting this into my kielbasa recipe rotation--Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Awesome! We didn't use the sauerkraut because we're not sauerkraut people but it was still great without. We added a pat of butter to the top of each one and kept it in the oven for an additional 20 minutes or so to give the top a twice baked potato type texture. And if you can only find 14 oz. kielbasa as I did, one 3.3 oz bag of Betty Crocker instant mashed potatoes is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMJESS2588

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States