Stuffed Jalapeno Firecrackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
If you were even considering this recipe, JUST MAKE IT!!! It's quick and easy, and anyone that likes a spicy bite will be throwing you compliments. But be sure to wear gloves while you prep, or get that fresh capsaicin oil off your skin quickly!! We couldn't find the jalapeno bacon, but were able to find jalapeno cream cheese, which turned out to be a equitable substitution. We're making this one again real soon! We modified the directions just a bit, using Boar's Head deli style bacon (the perfect cut - not too thick or thin), cutting each strip in half to wrap once around each jalapeno half. A pound of bacon yielded 2 dozen pepper halves with a few stips of bacon left over for 'quality assurance' tasting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I make the same recipe, but I also add 1 can crab meat or tiny shrimp, 4 oz shreaded cheese and a few dashes soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
These really are hot, just like the recipe states, but they have great flavor. Will mix up the leftovers into a dip adding some more ingredients, and bake to decrease the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
You might would like to try parboiling the peppers for about six minutes. Let them cool. Split them and scrape out the seeds. Add the cream cheese and then lay a shrimp on the bed of cheese. Wrap them with the bacon,insert toothpicks and grill them. Just have the ice cold beer ready when they come off the grill. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkBlair

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Liberty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I've made these several times to the specifications in the recipe. YUM! MY only advice would be to wear gloves when handling the raw jalapenos if you have sensitive skin. The fist time I did not wear gloves, and my hands burned for about 12 hours afterward. (Used a rub of damp sugar to alleviate the burn...made my hands soft, too.) Other than that, these are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I've been making these for years , LOVE 'EM ! I like to mix a cup of shredded Cheddar in with the cream cheese. I've also added things like chopped shrimp , mushrooms , clams ect... I've also found it best to freeze these before cooking, this allows the bacon to cook before the cheese mix runs out , Start cooking them face down and then flip when bacon is browned ...addressing the heat issue : save the seeds and membrane when cleaning these ... mix with about a tablespoon of water in a small blender ( I have the bullet ) add about a tablespoon ( adjust to taste )of this VERY HOT mixture to the cheese mixture , this is the best way I've found to control the heat ;) .......... These can be made on the grill too ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have been making these for years now, never put cajun seasoning with them. I usually add a pack of dry Ranch dressing to an 8oz cream cheese, stuff, then wrap 1/2 piece bacon around the jalapeno. They are great, I will have to try them with the cajun seasoning. NOTE: WEAR GLOVES WHEN HANDLING THE JALAPENO!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
great for appetizers and having people over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My husband has made these in a different version for years. We have a lot of friends that like them but don't like the blast of heat they get so he removes the seeds and membranes at their request before stuffing them. This is easily done with a grapefruit spoon even if you cut them in half. He likes to cut them in half so they will lay flat then put a little precooked sausage (or whatever sounds good to you)in them, a thick slice of Cream Havarti* cheese and top with a half slice of lean bacon. Bake in a 400 degree oven until the bacon is done and serve. You will still have some heat but not a lot and a lot of people will able to eat them that would not the other way. If you want them hotter then don't remove all of the seeds and membrane. He never has any leftovers to bring home! *Havarti cheese melts very well so don't make the slices so big that it melts and runs into the cooking pan. If you crumple some foil and put it in your pan it will hold the peppers so they don't tilt and lose the stuffing. Non-stick foil works great for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Jalapeño Firecrackers

What's cooking in Fort Worth? Delicious stuffed-jalapeño poppers, of course.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States