Stuffed Guinea Squash (Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is right up my alley. I'll have to share it with my vegetarian friend. I used 1/2 c cheese in the mixture and sprinkled 1/2 c on top and found that was plenty for my taste. I made the mistake of using loive oil to fry the veggies and the eggplant sucked it all up along with the oil taste so next time I will use butter like it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was sooo good! I halved and microwaved the eggplant for a few minutes. Sautéed onion, eggplant, & garlic in olive oil. Added a bit of tomato sauce, seasoned with garlic salt & basil. I did not add any bread crumbs or Cheddar cheese, but instead added Parmesan cheese to taste which gave the desired consistency. It was delicious, thanks for sharing such a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jl1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was very good. I used a smaller eggplant and halved the ingredients. If you like stuffing you will love this recipe. The only thing I would do a little different is to add the cheese on top during the last 10 minutes. It was a little too cooked for my taste, but this is certainly a great recipe. I made a meal out of it and was quite full. Thank you for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Fantastic! Quick and easy to make. Very delicious. A great way to start using my first crop of eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Very creative way to prepare eggplant. We loved this recipe and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This was really really good. I didn't have much cheese so I used very little and didn't have much on top but that didn't matter. It was still great. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
We really enjoyed this rec. I baked eggplant skin by itself about 7-10 min, then filled with mushroom mixture and baked for 15 min, then added cheese on top and cooked another 10 min. Next time Im going to add some seasonings/spices to mushroom mixture. Overall very good. I agree with other reviewer who said that if you like stuffing you will like this rec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a great dish!! and you can use cooked chopped ham or cooked crumbled sausage(bulk) into the mixture add some basil and you have a meal that has an Italian Flair,tasty and economical too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I tweeked it just a bit. I used 1/2 cup of bread crumbs and that was pleanty. I also added shrimp and garlic powder. I will definetly be making this again! YUMMY! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This was very good. I cut the eggplant in half and layed the 2 halves cut side down on a plate, covered with a paper towel and microwaved for 5 minutes. The center scooped out nicely and the shell was partially cooked. I stuffed mine with onion,garlic,mushrooms,roma tomates,a handful of leftover spinach,the eggplant pulp,breadcrumbs, and fresh grated parm cheese. I sauteed all of these together in 1tblspn. of evoo. Stuffed the boats and covered with more grated parm. and drizzled with a little more evoo. Oh, I forgot to mention the fresh basil I added. Fresh and so healthy. Will make again, there are so many variations for this tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States