Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great alternative to meat stuffed peppers, but I gave it 4 stars because the original recipe is bland. It is an excellent recipe to use leftovers/what ever's on hand and get creative. This last time I used RiceORoni's mushroom rice and risotto mix instead of white rice and a can of Bush's grillin' black beans which have lots of flavor and spice. I also followed others recommendations and layered in some diced tomatoes and some pepper jack cheese. My husband and I like our green peppers cooked, so I boiled them for 5 minutes before stuffing them and then only baked for 25 minutes at 350 F. Don't forget the sour cream! Yum! Even better than the meat stuffed version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Really, really good. I cook the rice in vegetable broth, then add corn, green chilies and sometimes veggie crumbles for a heartier meal. I also use less cheese and more spices-- usually chili powder, cayenne pepper, and garlic & onion powders. Serve with salsa & sour cream. This is so good we often eat it plain or with chips as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Money

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
pretty good. needed more flavour -- added garlic, cumin ... you can jazz it up quite easily. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
These peppers were a hit at a party I went to...however I made the following changes: I used Cooper Sharp cheese instead (so much better), also I used minute rice and boiled it before stuffing and they took much less time. I also added diced tomatoes inside. Mmmm, these were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Love these! We have been given more peppers this summer then we know what do do with. My husband makes them adding 1/2 tsp of mustard seed and 1 tsp. of corriander seed ground together to the rice mixture. We also use cheddar cheese. They are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Wonderful recipe, I too made some changes--I added some ground beef as i had some leftover from the night before, onion, a small bit of celery and also used brown rice. I reduced the cheese but used shredded cheddar as that is what I had on hand and my husband loved it!! I also added a bit of garlic pepper and reduced the chili pepper just a little. Wonderful and we have added it to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great alternative to using meat. I browned some chopped onion and minced garlic first, then mixed in the chili powder and added a little cumin. Next added the beans and cooked rice (brown rather than white). I mixed in half the tomato sauce before stuffing the peppers, and topped the peppers with some shredded cheddar cheese and the rest of the tomato sauce. They came out moist and delicious. I also boil my peppers for about 5 minutes before I stuff them so they cook faster (350 degrees for about 25 minutes) and become a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I used feta cheese instead of Swiss and froze the peppers for a later meal. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benson, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
We liked the filling but not so much with green peppers. Maybe better with red peppers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I love this recipe! However I did make changes! I did use instant rice to save time. I also added ground jalapenos, ground veggie meat, red pepper, black pepper, salt and a couple of dashes of hot sauce. It's delicious! I also felt that the tomato sauce was awkward...so I treat them like tacos and add sour cream, guac and more hot sauce. Second week in a row I have made them!! AMAZING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States