Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
A few minor alterations take this from good to a recipe to something I make monthly. I made it first with green peppers and they were ok. I made it using red peppers and it was amazing!!! My only other change is I add a can of onion & garlic diced tomatoes to the rice (instead of topping the pepper with tomato sauce) and add 1 TBS cumin. To me the swiss cheese is a necessity, it adds delicious flavor and the cheese on top that gets browned is my favorite part! I usually have left over rice after filling 4 peppers so I grate the remaining swiss cheese into it and serve the rice with dinner as well since I like a higher proportion of rice to my pepper than fits into the pepper itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PATTIMAC2000
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
excellent! love, love, loved them!! I cut my peppers in half and laid them on their sides. I blanched them for 1 minute before filling. (this is optional) The rice is 3 cups if you are not starting from beginning and I did brown rice with chicken bouillon in the water when I made it and beans about 1.5 cups after draining, next time I will add more beans and make it closer to half each. Just personal choice. I used Gruyere Swiss and it was about 8oz in a wedge so I ground it up in food processor and just stirred it in with the other ingredients. I added about a cup or so of fresh diced tomato and 1 generous tsp. of ground cumin from looking at the other reviews. I had enough filling for 5 peppers with about a cup or so left over, probably closer to 2 cups as I kept taking bites of it :) I used 13x9, my own vegetable/pasta sauce on the bottom about 1.5 cups, laid the filled peppers in....ran sauce across the top of them and covered with foil. 400 degrees, 30 minutes uncovered, added crumbled approximately a cup of Cotija cheese enough to sprinkle over all the peppers, baked 10 minutes more. Yummo!!! I have added a picture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I love these stuffed peppers...the rice/bean filling is delicious. But I'm not sure how you could possibly use that much cheese in them. I stuck with shredded mozzarella and layered the filling, then cheese twice in each pepper half, then topped with some sauce and a little more shredded cheese. There is always some filling left over, but it's great on the side or on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I used 2 cups of cooked brown rice added 1/4 cup of corn, 1 can of black beans 1 T chili power 1 t cumin and 1 cup of tomato sauce and 1 cup of salsa. I then placed slices of cheese inside the sides of the peppers and then filled them. I used provolone but any cheese will work. I placed in a casserole dish with 2 inches of water on the bottom and baked 1 hr at 400 degrees. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Added meat , much better Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddio

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
The comments here helped a bunch. I decided to experiment using suggestions in the comments and what I had in the house. I sautéed 1/2 an onion in olive oil and 2 cloves of garlic, added some cumin and chili powder, then added cooked brown rice, mixed in refried beans and then some tomato sauce. Stuffed the pepper and then topped with a mixed mexican blend shredded cheese. It would have been yummy to add the cheese throughout but I was working on keeping down the calories. It came out so awesome and super yummy. Would so make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is good as is or making your own modifications! I added a little cumin and garlic and onions and used cheddar instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I like others made changes based on what I had on hand, but I think the recipe would be great either way! I used red peppers because that's what I had, and couscous instead of rice. I also substituted a sprinkle of fat free mozzarella instead of cheddar. I also used leftover sauce I had made. They were filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Delicious with my modifications: Used brown basmati rice. Added 1/4 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp kosher salt & black pepper Used cheddar, monterey jack, parmesan equalling about 1 cup. Baked in two cans of diced tomatoes Topped with a 1/2 ounce of Dill Havarti and near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I tried this because I read to put cheese slices throughout. I combined some meat...and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States