Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Perri Pender
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I used a green and a red pepper, I steam mine, much quicker and easier and I prefer the pepper to be a little crisper! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Loved this recipe!! My husband & I agree that this is the best!! Like my grandmother used to make. No razzle dazzle like adding cheese & other ingredients that throw the taste off. It's a good hometown recipe!! We wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Grosvenordale, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is a good basic recipe and most everything is already cooked before stuffing....rather than bake the stuffed peppers I simply put them into the microwave [covered] with a bit of water in the bottom and nuke them for about 9-12 minutes...done...and just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they were very good. I modified the procedure slightly, however, cooking the peppers in my microwave oven for 4 minutes instead of boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Gerrells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I boiled my green peppers too long, more than five minutes. They still turned out good! I halved the recipe made three stuffed peppers and I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes and green chiles for an added kick!! I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very simple, yet very tasty! I used four peppers vs. six (all depends on the size). I also opted to sub Butterball ground turkey vs. beef with great results. I added a little garlic to the meat while cooking and didn't add the celery because I didn't have any on hand. Once they came out of the oven I sprinkled the tops with grated Parmesan cheese. Perfect with a side of mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I've made this 2 times. My family loves it. Great way to get the family to eat vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Only thing I chg is the onion. I add about 1/2 cup, I love these peppers! So easy & so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicci g
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
delicious! I added corn just because and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe was simple, so that was nice. However, it was quite bland. I used more onion and celery than it called for, as well as minced garlic, and I used Progresso Recipe Starters tomato sauce because I was out of plain tomato sauce, so this added flavor and it was still bland. I also topped the peppers with Parmesan cheese. I sauteed the celery and onion, as well as adding garlic, before browning the beef. I definitely recommend seasoning your beef with Italian seasoning or whatever else you are interested in. Mine had an Italian flavor due to the Progresso, but with this recipe being as simple as it is, you can easily make it taste more Mexican by using taco seasoning or go another route entirely. Also, this recipe did not make enough for 6 peppers. Fortunately, I only had 4 but I otherwise used what the recipe called for (plus some) and would have barely had enough for 5 peppers filled to the top. This recipe can and should be improved but it is a good base for stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States