Stuffed Filet Mignon Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
recipe caught my eye but was scared to use the filet so I just used a couple of no name steaks... WONDERFUL doesn't do this justice! granted a bit putsy but weel worth it. next time i'll make a batch with smoked salmon in the cream cheese to go along with the jalepenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Loved it, My wife loved it, be careful not to cut the filet into too large of pieces. smaller sections were easier to cook. Im prefer spicy, so might add a little more jalopeno next time or a little crushed red pepper too. Deliscious! Well worth the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Very good. Another way to cook is to put these under the broiler. I wrapped the bacon in the other direction than the steak wrap so it kept the cream cheese inside. Excellent recipe!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! We *LOVED* these! For me, they were a little tough to cook appropriately on the BBQ, but I'm BBQ challenged. I think I'll broil them next time - I had trouble cooking them evenly, but it was entirely user error. Absolutely phenomenal recipe. Fantastic taste, and pretty presentation! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I thought these turned out well. They were tasty. In the future I would add more "heat" to the cream cheese and probably use a cheaper cut of steak. I think it would work out great to use thin slices of ribeye or strip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I was a little scared to use filet to try this recipe out, but went ahead anyway. I'm glad I did, it was fantastic!! I think you could get similar results using a less expensive cut if you’re not willing to pay the price for filet. Me and the hubby generally like things spicy and I found the jalapeño to be just enough. Next time I think I'll add a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
My mistake, didn't get meat small enough - will do again and cut smaller, otherwise fabulous! Great combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
These bites are excellent. However, for budget sake I used boneless NY strip instead of mignon. They were a bit messy to assemble. Grilling was a challenge due to very hot flare ups from the bacon. Other than that... these bites are definitly worth your effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I don't know if it was the fact that I made these on my Foreman grill, or if I did something wrong. My meat came out tough and much of the cream cheese filling oozed out. The taste of the cream cheese with the steak was great- I think I will try to figure out how to use it with steak in a different way. One thing that I did not know- which judging by all of the posts on the internet I am not the only one. Do NOT cut up jalapenos without wearing gloves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wow, this is definately one of the best steak dishes I have ever had and was an absolute HIT at my football party last weekend. I was a little suspicious of using filet mignon, but realized afterward that it works the best because it can be pounded smoother than regular steak (less fat). I was also amazed at how many strips you can get out of one filet! Remember to wet the skewers before you put them on the grill and make sure to wrap the bites up well so the cream cheese doesn't ooze out. Also, make sure to wrap SMALL bites, otherwise its way too hard to eat. The first time was a little experiment, but once you get this down, you will not be disappointed. Hope all this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States