Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe! I halved the amount of breadcrumbs, doubled the amount of shrimp and of garlic, and added some mushrooms. It was delicious! Definitely a recipe you can play with to suit your own tastes. And it reheats well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
A little tweaking, and this dish tasted just like my favorite dish at the red bar in grayton beach, florida! less breadcrumbs (about half), add onions, a little more garlic & shrimp, add a little thyme- and this was the best eggplant dish i've ever eaten- divine! this recipe is great for those who love to cook because you can adjust to suit your taste... thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This is a great recipe with a huge amount of flavor; it is easy to make and very versatile. I followed the recipe as stated, except for the following additions. I chopped a medium size onion, a small red, and a small green bell pepper, and sauteed them before I added the rest of the ingredients. I also added thyme and extra garlic, and I used one cup of bread crumbs instead of two. Everyone loved it, and I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is probably the best meal I have ever made!! I decreased the breadcrumbs as suggested, and added chopped spinach, portabello mushrooms, and pine nuts. It was a huge hit and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was a home run! I enjoy eggplant but always am looking for a way to make it aside from the standard and fattening Italian parmesan. I stumbled upon this recipe and couldn't wait to try. I took the advice of others by doubling shrimp and reducing bread crumbs in half. I didn't use all of the eggplant flesh in the stuffing...left out the especially seedy sections. Sauteed (in 1/4c oil) 1/4c chopped red onion, 1/2c chopped mushroom, 3 cloves minced garlic, 1/4c chopped roasted red pepper (canned), 1c chopped eggplant, 1/2c chicken broth (instead of wine), 16 shrimp chopped and 1/8c fresh basil. Made sure to add the shrimp at very end so they didn't become rubbery. Used 1/2c parm cheese in stuffing and lite sprinkle on top. Baked for 35 minutes and let rest for 5. They were delicious and filling. Served with supreme spinach from AR and garlic texas toast. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I did one thing VERY differently!! I don't like overcooked shrimp, so, I did the recipe sort of backwards! I scooped out the eggplant and then I brushed the shells with olive oil and about t0 minutes before i wanted to serb]ve the dinner I baked the shells!! Then just beforew they were done i did the rest. Once the shells were done I piled in the cooked BRIEFLY shrimp, basil, wine and chopped eggplant. This I then piled into the cooked shells and spread the smaller mix of bread crumbs and parmewsan cheese. It was wonderful! The shrimp were not tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mt. Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I find it insulting that people can rate a recipe without making it!!!! the calorie intake is obviously wrong! Just make the recipe and then review it , instead of doing the opposite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Yummy, yummy! I crave this recipe! I have replaced half of the breadcrumbs with a chopped zuchinni and it's really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Not bad. I added more than 8 shrimp. We finished the whole dish but my husband commented that the bread crumbs overpowered the flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
We thought this was very good but needed more seasiong. Next time I'm going to try it in a cassarole dish as we didn't care for the eggplant skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States