Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
it was good. everyone enjoyed it. i added a little more shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Excellent and EASY. I didn't have any basil, so I substituted tarragon and it was super. Be careful when salting the filling--the breadcrumbs add a lot of salt. I added too much and it was too salty, but that was my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This turned out pretty good, I had never tasted eggplant before, so not sure what to expect. I used 2 medium sized eggplant, 1 pound shrimp and used just slighly more than 1/2 cup wine. Didn't care for the skin of the eggplant, but the stuffing was really good. Couldn't even tell there was eggplant in it. Just tasted like a seafood bread stuffing. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This turned out great. I used 2 eggplants. I started the saute with 1/4 cup onion and a tablespoon bell pepper. After a few minutes, I added the eggplant, garlic, 1/2 teaspoon fresh parsley and 1/2 teaspoon fresh oregano. The shrimp went in after the wine, 2 minutes before the end of the saute. I used 1 cup of regular bread crumbs instead of the Italian seasoned and baked for 35 minutes. My wife doesn't like eggplant but she ate half of what I made ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I made this exactly according to the recipe, and was very disappointed. It wasn't bad, but it just tasted like Italian bread crumbs. I couldn't taste the shrimp, basil, or eggplant. Even my husband, who likes bland food, thought it was very blah. I see in hindsight that most of the people who gave this a 5-star review used far less breadcrumbs, and usually added more shrimp and/or more veggies such as bell peppers or mushrooms. I wouldn't make it again without serious modifications, but then it wouldn't be "this" recipe, it would be a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe nearly to a T which is rare for me. The catch is that I always make my own breadcrumbs so my Italian seasoned breadcrumbs may not be someone else's Italian seasoned breadcrumbs. Also, I had pre-cooked frozen shrimp so I had to change the order of when I added the shrimp in. That said, this recipe ROCKS!! Looking forward to the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I followed the directions, but added one small diced onion and 3 diced cloves of garlic to the oil with the eggplant. I also mixed in one diced fresh tomato at the end before stuffing and baking for color and freshness. This is very good and very much like the stuffed eggplant at the Red Bar in Greyton Beach, FL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Made it MOSTLY according to the directions with fresh basil from the garden and Remy Pannier French White wine (cheap but tasty, my first time cooking with wine aside from a splash here & there) the flavor is to die for! I put alot of salt and about 1 cup of med-small shrimp and a touch of water in the bake ware. one thing: heating olive over a medium heat and higher oxidized it (breaks it down) so that it loses its benefits and can actually cause what it is said to prevent healthwise. Use Canola or other high heat oil for med-high and higher. NEVER use corn oil...it is rancid/expired even before it is in the bottle from the processing it goes through. they shouldnt even sell the stuff its so bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This recipe was good. I used dried basil and omitted the bread crumbs. I added half onion chopped. Overall, it needed more seasoning. Next time will try adding seasoned tomato sauce, and fresh basil like directed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States