Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Kate
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was a home run! I enjoy eggplant but always am looking for a way to make it aside from the standard and fattening Italian parmesan. I stumbled upon this recipe and couldn't wait to try. I took the advice of others by doubling shrimp and reducing bread crumbs in half. I didn't use all of the eggplant flesh in the stuffing...left out the especially seedy sections. Sauteed (in 1/4c oil) 1/4c chopped red onion, 1/2c chopped mushroom, 3 cloves minced garlic, 1/4c chopped roasted red pepper (canned), 1c chopped eggplant, 1/2c chicken broth (instead of wine), 16 shrimp chopped and 1/8c fresh basil. Made sure to add the shrimp at very end so they didn't become rubbery. Used 1/2c parm cheese in stuffing and lite sprinkle on top. Baked for 35 minutes and let rest for 5. They were delicious and filling. Served with supreme spinach from AR and garlic texas toast. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I did one thing VERY differently!! I don't like overcooked shrimp, so, I did the recipe sort of backwards! I scooped out the eggplant and then I brushed the shells with olive oil and about t0 minutes before i wanted to serb]ve the dinner I baked the shells!! Then just beforew they were done i did the rest. Once the shells were done I piled in the cooked BRIEFLY shrimp, basil, wine and chopped eggplant. This I then piled into the cooked shells and spread the smaller mix of bread crumbs and parmewsan cheese. It was wonderful! The shrimp were not tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mt. Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Awesum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My husband states it's OK! Tasted like shrimp stuffing. I only added 1.2 c of bread crumbs but to no avail. If there is a next time I will try leaving out the bread crumbs and add several other grilled vegetables with more shimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great recipe. I didn't have fresh basil as it jut got killed a few days ago in the freeze, so I used fresh oregano. I also added mushrooms and cut the bread crumbs in half and doubled the shrimp. It was wonderful. One indication it was so good is that my wife ate the entire half and that is a lot of food for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking with little buddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Spectacular! I generally dislike eggplant, but I will be putting this into my regular rotation. Like many reviewers mentioned, I minced and sauteed half an onion and used half as much breadcrumbs (1/2 cup). I also used dried basil and added a pinch of crushed red pepper and plenty of onion powder. I''ve started dinner by myself while I started writing this (before my husband is home!) just because it's so good and I can't stop eating it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was very tasty! Like one other reviewer I added some zucchini and put it in a casserole dish. I also added about 2 tbs of Greek olive tapenade and about 1/4 cup of feta cheese. I still mixed the bread and parm cheese and put that on top. I love eggplant and always look for more dishes like this! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Oh my gosh, this was SO delicious. I followed other suggestions and doubled the shrimp and garlic, only used 1/2 cup of bread crumbs, plus added 1 tsp. of garlic powder, 1 tsp. of thyme, and only used a littl over 1/4 cup of parmesan. SO wonderful--will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This dish turned out really well. I used less bread crumbs, and added some mushrooms and balsamic vinegar. Great dish to play around with. A bit on the heavy side though. My boyfriend liked it, although he didn't eat the eggplant "shell". I served it with green beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I really like this recipe. It is so good. Because of what other reviewers had remarked regarding cutting down the bread crumbs by 1/2 I did take their advice and I'm glad that I did, it was absolutely perfect. I think what really makes this recipe is the sauteing in the white wine. You can just taste an undertone. Everything about this recipe is delicious. While I was eating this I thought what it might taste like with crabmeat and lobster added. I will be definitely making this for guests. You have to try this recipe, it is outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States