Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I did the math using Calorie King, and yes, these nutritional info numbers are accurate if you use the full amount of olive oil and bread crumbs, which is where the bulk of the calories comes from (480 and 214 per serving, respectively). But really, 1/2 cup olive oil and 1 cup bread crumbs? I wouldn't use that anyway. I used less than half the olive oil and about 1/3 cup bread crumbs, and I added more shrimp, and this was delicious. I also used regular bread crumbs seasoned with fresh oregano, and about 1/3 cup Parmesan (the full amount is 108 cal per serving). I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Loved this recipe. I have to admit, I improvised quite a bit b/c I wanted to use ingredients on hand. Replaced shrimp with spinach feta chicken sausages, 1/2'ed the breadcrumbs. Carmelized an onion and some fennel which I layered as a bed under the eggplant. This dish was incredible. Thanks for the idea--despite all my changes, the dish was still largely yours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I find it insulting that people can rate a recipe without making it!!!! the calorie intake is obviously wrong! Just make the recipe and then review it , instead of doing the opposite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was pretty good the first time I made it...but it seemed to be lacking flavor. So I made it again and tweeked it by cutting down on bread crumbs and adding more shrimp, chopped sweet onion, diced zucchini, diced red bell pepper, and a little mild ground italian sausage. I also added an egg to the stuffing to bond it. The extra flavor really kicked it into gear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Truckerdoo... you rock my world! I adore eggplant.. any way, shape or form! And this recipe is awesome! I reduced the bread crumbs as well. I added some crabmeat with the shrimp and some mushrooms I had left in the fridge as well as half a pepper that was lying in there too begging to be used up. I love this recipe and it has become my mainstay for weekends when my kids are at their dads. Thanks for a great eggplant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Maybe I did something wrong but mine was pretty tasteless and mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtdrms81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I've been wanting to try eggplant and started looking for some recipes. This one stood out, especially because I love shrimp. I took the advice of some of the reviewers and added lots more shrimp, cut back slightly on the bread crumbs, and added mushrooms and green onions. I didn't add the seediest sections of eggplant back in. I thought it was delicious and the shrimp did not seem overcooked to me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was a home run! I enjoy eggplant but always am looking for a way to make it aside from the standard and fattening Italian parmesan. I stumbled upon this recipe and couldn't wait to try. I took the advice of others by doubling shrimp and reducing bread crumbs in half. I didn't use all of the eggplant flesh in the stuffing...left out the especially seedy sections. Sauteed (in 1/4c oil) 1/4c chopped red onion, 1/2c chopped mushroom, 3 cloves minced garlic, 1/4c chopped roasted red pepper (canned), 1c chopped eggplant, 1/2c chicken broth (instead of wine), 16 shrimp chopped and 1/8c fresh basil. Made sure to add the shrimp at very end so they didn't become rubbery. Used 1/2c parm cheese in stuffing and lite sprinkle on top. Baked for 35 minutes and let rest for 5. They were delicious and filling. Served with supreme spinach from AR and garlic texas toast. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I did one thing VERY differently!! I don't like overcooked shrimp, so, I did the recipe sort of backwards! I scooped out the eggplant and then I brushed the shells with olive oil and about t0 minutes before i wanted to serb]ve the dinner I baked the shells!! Then just beforew they were done i did the rest. Once the shells were done I piled in the cooked BRIEFLY shrimp, basil, wine and chopped eggplant. This I then piled into the cooked shells and spread the smaller mix of bread crumbs and parmewsan cheese. It was wonderful! The shrimp were not tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mt. Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Awesum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States