Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I didn't have Italian b.c. So I used 1/2c panko & seasoned the shrimps with adobo.4 1/2 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Great idea! I had to try this but was a bit scared by the calorie count. I made a few wee changes and dropped the calorie count to about 240 from the just under 1000 that is noted. I used cooking spray instead of the 1/4 cup oil, 1/2 cup of water and 1 tbsp bisto for poultry instead of the wine, 2 slices of weight watchers multigrain bread instead of the bread crumbs and only used 1 tbsp of the cheese. I also added some garlic salt, italian seasoning, cracked black pepper, onion powder and some red onion. Lastly, I didn't have any fresh basil so used some minced basil that I always have in the fridge which worked out well for sauteing purposes having not used the oil. I have to say that this meal was DEElightful!! Even my husband commented on how good it was! Thank you Thank you for the wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
swtdrms81 is right! This sounded so delicious--couldn't wait to try it out. It looked and smelled so good, but had an awful taste. I thought it must be the wine I chose and he thinks maybe too much basil or the eggplant wasn't right. Either way, I did take 2 bites--awful! Please advise because I want to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I did the math using Calorie King, and yes, these nutritional info numbers are accurate if you use the full amount of olive oil and bread crumbs, which is where the bulk of the calories comes from (480 and 214 per serving, respectively). But really, 1/2 cup olive oil and 1 cup bread crumbs? I wouldn't use that anyway. I used less than half the olive oil and about 1/3 cup bread crumbs, and I added more shrimp, and this was delicious. I also used regular bread crumbs seasoned with fresh oregano, and about 1/3 cup Parmesan (the full amount is 108 cal per serving). I'd definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Loved this recipe. I have to admit, I improvised quite a bit b/c I wanted to use ingredients on hand. Replaced shrimp with spinach feta chicken sausages, 1/2'ed the breadcrumbs. Carmelized an onion and some fennel which I layered as a bed under the eggplant. This dish was incredible. Thanks for the idea--despite all my changes, the dish was still largely yours. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I find it insulting that people can rate a recipe without making it!!!! the calorie intake is obviously wrong! Just make the recipe and then review it , instead of doing the opposite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was pretty good the first time I made it...but it seemed to be lacking flavor. So I made it again and tweeked it by cutting down on bread crumbs and adding more shrimp, chopped sweet onion, diced zucchini, diced red bell pepper, and a little mild ground italian sausage. I also added an egg to the stuffing to bond it. The extra flavor really kicked it into gear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Truckerdoo... you rock my world! I adore eggplant.. any way, shape or form! And this recipe is awesome! I reduced the bread crumbs as well. I added some crabmeat with the shrimp and some mushrooms I had left in the fridge as well as half a pepper that was lying in there too begging to be used up. I love this recipe and it has become my mainstay for weekends when my kids are at their dads. Thanks for a great eggplant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Maybe I did something wrong but mine was pretty tasteless and mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtdrms81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I've been wanting to try eggplant and started looking for some recipes. This one stood out, especially because I love shrimp. I took the advice of some of the reviewers and added lots more shrimp, cut back slightly on the bread crumbs, and added mushrooms and green onions. I didn't add the seediest sections of eggplant back in. I thought it was delicious and the shrimp did not seem overcooked to me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States