Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My girlfriend made this recipe with some of our home-grown eggplants. She's a big fan of eggplant and she's been looking for more ways to get me to eat them. I have to say, if she keeps making eggplant recipes like this one, I'll be a fan in no time! The flavor of the stuffing was great and the shrimp was a nice added bonus. We have quite a few more eggplants in the garden, so I look forward to eating this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is delicious! I use 1/4 of the bread crumbs and double up the shrimp. I add in a couple heaping tablespoons of pesto along with the fresh basil. If I'm short on time and /or don't want to turn on a hot oven, I'll skip the baking and serve over angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mags81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Great recipe! really enjoed it. Made a little change, added crabmeat in addition to the shrimp. And mixed in shredded chesese .Not to much to over power eggplant What a great flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef T50

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is a meal in itself. I don't think it needs sides of orzo and salad. I served with tomatoes from our garden. This was good, but not as good as I hoped. I added salt and pepper as written, but with the 'Italian" seasoned bread crumbs and parmesan the end result was too salty for me. Next time I might experment by reducing the breadcrumbs and adding mushrooms and onion. I could not taste the basil at all. The seasoned breadcrumbs overpowered the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
4-1/2 stars.... I followed the suggestions of others doubled the shrimp and added onions, mushrooms and celery to the garlic and oil. Also added the shrimp at the last minute and pre-cooked the eggplant halves. next time I will use less breadcrumbs and add red pepper for some color. Great recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelmo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Exceptional!!! Far beat any expectations! Added fresh spinach into the sauting... LOVED it! This will be a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Delicious! I doubled the shrimp, used panko breadcrumbs, and added mushrooms, red onion, and a little mozzarella I had in the fridge. I cooked all the veggies first, and added the diced shrimp last so the shrimp wouldnt over cook. I added the breadcrumbs and chesses, then put the mixture in the shells and baked for 30 min. Turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is recipe is so easy and versital, I love, love, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
YUM! I had to change a few things due to a shrimp allergy. I came across this recipe by searching eggplant because after an unsucessful recipe my family was turned off by eggplant. They are total converts thanks to this recipe! I peeled the entire eggplant and cubed it, added zuchini, mushrooms,onions to compenate for the shrimp. baked in a casserole dish. Used manchega cheese (sheep cheese) instead of parm due to another allergy. it is definately a make again!! I did use less bread crumbs and use spray olive oil on top to save calories.My daughter ate 3 servings love love love it...thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and my husband and I loved it! It was so creative and tasty! However, we didn't really taste the basil flavor too much. Next time I will increase the basil amount! Will make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States