Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I'm gonna give this 4 stars because it inspired me...I'd rate it 3 stars as written, it needs the modifications suggested by previous reviewers such as more garlic (I used 3 cloves ) & shrimp (I used a dozen) , less breadcrumbs (I used 1/2 cup) & the addition of 1/4 cup chopped onion. The recipe doesn't specify how large the eggplant chunks should be, (I made mine about 1" cubes)...even though after baking in the oven, while we really liked the flavor we did not care for the texture...it was all sorta mushy & the shrimp were definitely overcooked. I WILL make this again but will definitely try to improve it next time - I'll let ya know how I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was very good! I used baby shrimp instead of chopping up larger ones and kept everything else as the recipe states. Next time I'd like to try this recipe on the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very yummy! I did what most reviewers recommended - added more shrimps and halved the bread crumbs (although I used panko bread crumbs as that is all I have).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Mmmm. Mmmm goood! This was very delicious. I read several reviews before making it and decided to make it as a casserole because I do not care for the skin of the eggplant. I didn't see where anyone else substituted dried basil for the fresh but I did use a teaspoon of it instead. I added fresh wild mushrooms and used a Reisling wine and the flavors were just wonderful. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
i used a food processor to chop the eggplant, which may have chopped it too small. would try larger pieces next time for better texture. also agree on cutting back on the bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made as written with a few changes in the method. Added the shrimp and the basil later so not to cook too long. We liked it but thought it could use a kick... perhaps more garlic or a dash of red pepper flakes. Nice way to use eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
If I could give this wonderful dish more than 5 stars I would. My hubby said I hit a grand slam with this one. Only changes I made were based on other reviewers suggestions and my personal preference. I doubled the number of shrimp, only used 1/2 the breadcrumbs, I added extra garlic and I also added chopped onion. I will definitely make this again ~ YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I had shrimp and an eggplant to use for dinner... allrecipes to the rescue! I thought it tasted great, and once I got the eggplant scooped out, very easy! Next time I'll broil for a few minutes at the end to give it more of a crisp. Also no point in cutting the shrimp up too small, because then you can't tell what you're eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Pretty tasty! Easy, too! I used precooked frozen shrimp as that is what I had on hand. I just thawed it, then added it with the eggplant instead of sauteing them with the garlic. It worked out well as the shrimp were not over cooked. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Made this recipe and can agree with the people who did not care for this meal. It was way too salty with the combination of seasoned bread crumbs, shrimp and parmesan cheese. Also, there are too many bread crumbs. My family liked all of the ingredients, just not this combination altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States