Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was pretty good, but didn't wow me. Yes, changed a few things; but not enough to make my review invalid. I didn't add the shrimp or breadcrumbs. 'Made it as a side dish, all stovetop. 'Guess it's one of those simple, but good italian dishes. Put it over pasta maybe - with a little red pepper & more fresh basil. 'Needs a little something else - spices & more vegetables maybe, ones that aren't so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Awesome! I did saute some chopped peppers and a little onion with the garlic. Used my own breadcrumbs and added dried herbs. Only four stars because it is sacrilege to cook both shrimp and basil for so long. I tossed them in just before putting into the oven. Didn't bother to cut the shrimp, just tossed them in whole. I've made it twice now, and will be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this tonight and thought it was wonderful. Followed the directions to the word and it came out perfect. The only thing I didn't use was the basil and it still came out amazing. Very filling also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
SO flavorful, and even the dubious husband polished off what was leftover. Used organic spelt crumbs instead of regular bread crumbs, and turned out excellent. Will be repeated, without changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Followed reciepe and it seemed to jumbled flavor wise, will not serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
We altered a lot about it after the first time making it, but we loved it even more! We used way more shrimp and added the breadcrumbs / parmesan / white wine right into the skillet while the garlic and shrimp and let it cook together. We also added all of the following: crushed red pepper, parsley, minced onion, and herbs de Provence. Then, after the eggplants were stuffed, I covered with shredded mozzarella. My husband adored eating the baked skins. A "clean plate" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah and Stuart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
As written this is merely ok. Sort of bland, and the shrimp ended up really over cooked. If I make it again I will cook the diced eggplant, onions and garlic in the oil and wine for 5-10 minutes, then add the shrimp for 1. I think I would also add diced sundried tomatoes. I would only use half as much bread crumbs - it was too high of a ratio to the rest of the ingredients. And I wouldn't bake it as long, to keep the shrimp from over cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was such a pretty presentation of food that I'd be excited to make it for others. I didn't have some of the ingredients so I made some substitutions and it was still great - I used beer instead of wine, and mixed the cooked shrimp and eggplant with ricotta cheese. I didn't have parmesean but I'm sure that would have made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was my first time eating stuffed eggplant, but it will not be my last. I modified the recipe slighly - using my Ninja, I crushed cashews and added italian seasoning in place of the bread crumbs, I used vegetable broth instead of white wine because that is what I had in the house and I used Vegan cheese to omit the dairy and make it a vegan recipe. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this exactly as written. It was amazing. I'm always looking for something different to do with veggies..the eggplant was so tasty and of course shrimp makes anything taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States