Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Followed reciepe and it seemed to jumbled flavor wise, will not serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
We altered a lot about it after the first time making it, but we loved it even more! We used way more shrimp and added the breadcrumbs / parmesan / white wine right into the skillet while the garlic and shrimp and let it cook together. We also added all of the following: crushed red pepper, parsley, minced onion, and herbs de Provence. Then, after the eggplants were stuffed, I covered with shredded mozzarella. My husband adored eating the baked skins. A "clean plate" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah and Stuart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
As written this is merely ok. Sort of bland, and the shrimp ended up really over cooked. If I make it again I will cook the diced eggplant, onions and garlic in the oil and wine for 5-10 minutes, then add the shrimp for 1. I think I would also add diced sundried tomatoes. I would only use half as much bread crumbs - it was too high of a ratio to the rest of the ingredients. And I wouldn't bake it as long, to keep the shrimp from over cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was such a pretty presentation of food that I'd be excited to make it for others. I didn't have some of the ingredients so I made some substitutions and it was still great - I used beer instead of wine, and mixed the cooked shrimp and eggplant with ricotta cheese. I didn't have parmesean but I'm sure that would have made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was my first time eating stuffed eggplant, but it will not be my last. I modified the recipe slighly - using my Ninja, I crushed cashews and added italian seasoning in place of the bread crumbs, I used vegetable broth instead of white wine because that is what I had in the house and I used Vegan cheese to omit the dairy and make it a vegan recipe. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this exactly as written. It was amazing. I'm always looking for something different to do with veggies..the eggplant was so tasty and of course shrimp makes anything taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I really thought this was going to be a bigger hit with my family. I was looking for something different to do. I thought it smelled really good, and didn't taste bad, but my husband hated the consistency of it. My son wouldn't even touch his half. The slimy texture of the eggplant mixture turned them off. Of course, I followed the recommendations of all of the other reviewers to decrease the breading by half and double the shrimp, so maybe I should have kept the breading. I also added extra garlic and onions too. If it were just me, I'd probably make this again, but due to lack of enthusiasm with the rest of my family, I think I will try some different recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This recipe is really good. I made a few changes that others had suggested. I added mushrooms, onions, extra garlic, 1/2 the breadcrumbs. Instead of stuffing the eggplant shells with the mixture, I peeled and chopped the eggplant and added the mixture to a casserole dish. I sprinkled mozzarella cheese over it and baked it for the specified time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I doubled the shrimp and garlic, halved the bread crumbs, added onion powder, mushrooms, green pepper, and zucchini. I kept three "whole" shrimp on top as decoration. Flavor still seemed bland to us but the presentation looked great. I do want to try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was great I reduced the bread crumbs by half as suggested and add chopped onion. I also baked it longer..90 minutes for very tender eggplant. My carnivore husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States