Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bedelle
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe was simple and healthy and delicious its hard coming up with ways to live life as a pescatarian! Glad I ranacross this rrecipe! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Took some of the suggestions of others: decreased bread crumbs, increased shrimp, added chopped onion. Other than that I followed it to a T. It was still a mushy mess. Not sure what I should have done differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
awesum recipe.......i used panko bread crumbs and added itallian breadcrumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was pretty good, but didn't wow me. Yes, changed a few things; but not enough to make my review invalid. I didn't add the shrimp or breadcrumbs. 'Made it as a side dish, all stovetop. 'Guess it's one of those simple, but good italian dishes. Put it over pasta maybe - with a little red pepper & more fresh basil. 'Needs a little something else - spices & more vegetables maybe, ones that aren't so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Awesome! I did saute some chopped peppers and a little onion with the garlic. Used my own breadcrumbs and added dried herbs. Only four stars because it is sacrilege to cook both shrimp and basil for so long. I tossed them in just before putting into the oven. Didn't bother to cut the shrimp, just tossed them in whole. I've made it twice now, and will be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this tonight and thought it was wonderful. Followed the directions to the word and it came out perfect. The only thing I didn't use was the basil and it still came out amazing. Very filling also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
SO flavorful, and even the dubious husband polished off what was leftover. Used organic spelt crumbs instead of regular bread crumbs, and turned out excellent. Will be repeated, without changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Followed reciepe and it seemed to jumbled flavor wise, will not serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
We altered a lot about it after the first time making it, but we loved it even more! We used way more shrimp and added the breadcrumbs / parmesan / white wine right into the skillet while the garlic and shrimp and let it cook together. We also added all of the following: crushed red pepper, parsley, minced onion, and herbs de Provence. Then, after the eggplants were stuffed, I covered with shredded mozzarella. My husband adored eating the baked skins. A "clean plate" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah and Stuart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
As written this is merely ok. Sort of bland, and the shrimp ended up really over cooked. If I make it again I will cook the diced eggplant, onions and garlic in the oil and wine for 5-10 minutes, then add the shrimp for 1. I think I would also add diced sundried tomatoes. I would only use half as much bread crumbs - it was too high of a ratio to the rest of the ingredients. And I wouldn't bake it as long, to keep the shrimp from over cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Stuffed Zucchini

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States