Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I cut mine in half and steam cooked it in the microwave. I cut the breadcrumbs. I tried sticking to the recipe, but when it was put together, it still didn't taste right for me. Added a little Bay seasoning, sautéed some bell pepper and onion and added that too. Was better with the added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I really like this recipe and made it a few times. I do add a little more shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie713
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Yum! As other reviewers have said, this is a versatile recipe meaning you can fudge on the ingredients and still enjoy major success. I prepared this recipe as a casserole because it's fast and easy to assemble and it looks nice afterward. Here are some details you might find helpful. Dice a ~1-lb eggplant into cubes and microwave 4 minutes in a bowl/baking pan covered with waxed paper (don't add liquid). Saute 1/2-lb of shrimp (2-3x amount recommended) with basil and garlic in a 5.5-quart sauce pan using only a tablespoon or two of olive oil. Continue with recipe and add 1/2-tsp salt and 1/2-tsp pepper with the eggplant cubes. After mixing the Parmesan cheese and bread crumbs (I used 1/2-cup of Panko crumbs because that's what I had on hand) into the mixture, beat one jumbo egg or two large eggs. Blend beaten eggs into the shrimp/eggplant mixture. The egg will make the ingredients hold together nicely when they're served out of the casserole pan. I spread into a 10" round baking pan and it made a shallow layer. Was done in 15 minutes and ready to serve. (See photo #14)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie713

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bedelle
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe was simple and healthy and delicious its hard coming up with ways to live life as a pescatarian! Glad I ranacross this rrecipe! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Took some of the suggestions of others: decreased bread crumbs, increased shrimp, added chopped onion. Other than that I followed it to a T. It was still a mushy mess. Not sure what I should have done differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
awesum recipe.......i used panko bread crumbs and added itallian breadcrumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was pretty good, but didn't wow me. Yes, changed a few things; but not enough to make my review invalid. I didn't add the shrimp or breadcrumbs. 'Made it as a side dish, all stovetop. 'Guess it's one of those simple, but good italian dishes. Put it over pasta maybe - with a little red pepper & more fresh basil. 'Needs a little something else - spices & more vegetables maybe, ones that aren't so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Awesome! I did saute some chopped peppers and a little onion with the garlic. Used my own breadcrumbs and added dried herbs. Only four stars because it is sacrilege to cook both shrimp and basil for so long. I tossed them in just before putting into the oven. Didn't bother to cut the shrimp, just tossed them in whole. I've made it twice now, and will be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this tonight and thought it was wonderful. Followed the directions to the word and it came out perfect. The only thing I didn't use was the basil and it still came out amazing. Very filling also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
SO flavorful, and even the dubious husband polished off what was leftover. Used organic spelt crumbs instead of regular bread crumbs, and turned out excellent. Will be repeated, without changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States