Stuffed Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
I liked it, but found myself in the bathroom due to tremendous gas. It gave me the poops! It was tasty though. Jeez, I just farted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Thank you for a terrific, traditional recipe. It was very good and I will make it again for the family. A special thank you for the freezing suggestion. What a time and effort saver!! No boiling or straining, Thank you Barb, I never would have thought of it. Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I did not freeze the cabbage. I think by par broiling it, you "de-gas" the cabbage. I also cooked mine in a crock pot on low for 8-9 hours. It turned out better than I remember as a child!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was an excellent recipe which we enjoyed tremendously! It took over 12 hours for the cabbage to thaw though. Think next time I'll take it out of the freezer the night before I want to cook the stuffed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belvidere, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Ridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Hubby loved this and so did I! Prefer that it is baked instead of cooked on stovetop! Only variation I made the second time was that I used the family size can of tomato soup and poured over to basically submerge the cabbage rolls. I also added 3 tablespoons of soup to meat mixture and a clove of garlic to add a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ETOTARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Excellent recipe. I make something similiar/quicker. I chop the cabbage and saute with ground beef, spicy pork sausage, mix in cooked rice and tomatoe soup for one pot meal. Thanks Barb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Fantastic recipe! My husband doesn't care for cabbage but loved this. I too added more tomato soup for extra sauce for the mashed potato. I also cut the rice down and used UNCOOKED rice; it bakes itself in the oven. Freezing the cabbage is the coolest tip I've found on this website. So easy to make. Too cool!!!! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Never would have thought of freezing the cabbage; great touch. Used crushed tomatoes in puree instead of soup ( soup is too salty ). Added a handful of raisins for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Recipe kind of bland. I added sausage and used a family size tomato soup. I loved the idea of freezing the cabbage overnight before using it. Will make again but with noted changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
stuffed cabbage is a great idea, but after freezing the head of letuce, i found that it was not nearly soft enough to wrap the meat/rice mixture around. it works much better if you boil the cabbage leaves, fill them and then stew the stuffed cabbage on the stove top. also it helps to mix up the meat using box beef and pork and add fried onion to the mixture. this recipe can definately be tweeked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEKSJAI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States