Stuffed Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Love this recipe. I've made it several times already. I did change just a couple of things. I used a 1/2 cup of rice instead of a 1/3 (I love rice) Also, instead of plain tomato sauce, I use a jar of spaghetti sauce. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Reminds me of hunting deep in the Allegheny forest. This was a deer camp staple that never failed to satisfy and warm you up when you returned half frozen from the woods! I multiply this recipe and use an electric roaster. This is perfect for large gatherings. A buffet favorite that will make you a star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Van Aken

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was my first time making this dish and call me stupid, but I did not realize that you added the meat mixture raw instead of cooking it first. The recipe does not indicate either way. By the time I figured it out I was too deep into it and did not want to toss out five bucks of beef. So I detoured and prepared a different dish. Please be as clear as possible when posting a recipe as some of us are still learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I baked it in the oven for about 45 minutes instead of using the stove. I love the tomato soup sauce (I added about 1/4 cup water to the soup). I'm not a fan of tomato sauce on my stuffed cabbage so the tomato soup was perfect-I might add a little more pepper the next time, but other than that it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was very good and not as difficult as I anticipated. I used diced tomatoes on top of the rolls instead of tomato soup, and served with boiled cubed potatoes mixed with some of the leftover cabbage after I got the good leaves off. My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
First time making this, turned out well. Parboiled cabbage leaves for 5 minutes, cooled down with cold water in a colander. Made some slight changes to recipe. I used whole grain converted rice chopped green pepper with the meat. For the sauce one 5.5 oz can of V8 whisked together with an 8 oz tomato sauce and added chunky black bean/corn salsa with a glug-glug of Worcestershire sauce. Decided to bake it in a 9x13x2 glass covered with foil for one hour at 375, then uncovered for 20 minutes. Came out great -- since I'm single, I'll be eating it for the next few days. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
The meat was dry and underseasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I've been making stuffed cabbage rolls for years using ground beef and love them. I thought I would try this with Johnsonville's Italian Sausage. I used their links, removing the casing, in place of the ground beef in this recipe and my husband liked them better than using beef. Me, on the other hand, prefers to use a good ground chuck. Instead of boiling my cabbage leaves to soften them, I just stuck the whole head of cabbage into my steamer pot and steamed until I could loosen them from the head. I had to do it in batches but it worked perfectly. I also used onion powder in place of the onion since my husband won't eat anything with onions. Normally I simmer these in a pot on the stove but I didn't feel like babysitting the pot so I put them in a baking pan and basted them with the soup a couple times throughout the cooking process. I baked at 350 degrees for around an hour or so. Good simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I used the tomato sauce that one reviewer on here had advised, and it still didn't save the dish. They were O.K, but it seems like a lot of work to just produce an "O.K" meal. Pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made these with a few changes. I used ground beef and ground sausage. I used a pack of onion soup mix and added fresh parsley. I baked on a bed of sauerkraut on low heat for a few hours. I served with mashed potatoes. It was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States